We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Florence
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quite overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I got a phenomenal deal on this hotel, and still feel like it wasn't worth the money. The room was very dated, dark and dingy. The bathroom was filthy (See pics). The lighting around the exterior was pretty dark, and where the ice machine was, the light wasn't working at all! Kind of a creepy ice fill up it makes for. One bright spot was the free breakfast, it was quite good.

Also had a medical request they wouldn't honor that virtually every hotel I have ever stayed at has ( I used to travel for business so I've stayed in ALOT of hotels)

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you want a 'good' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, General Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. From your comments it does not sound as if you contacted the desk during your stay to inform us of your conditions. Not all conditions are acceptable to all people and poor condition of any kind is not tolerated. From your comments it sounds like you needed a microfridge for medical conditions.... I apologize not all of our rooms are equipped with this amenity, however ,for rooms that do not provide this amenity ,we will store it for you in the hotel refrigerator. Someone is on staff 24hrs a day so you could always have access to it. In order to meet your needs, if you stay again and decide to try us again, please ask for a room in the 4th building because it is equipped with spacious rooms that offer microfridges. Thanks again for sharing, I do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    41
    29
    41
See reviews for
61
65
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Walpole
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My wife and I along with my mother stayed here both going and returning from Florida on Christmas Day and New Year's Day. We chose this hotel because of the recommendations on Trip Advisor. I was especially impressed by the Manager's comments noted after each review. It showed us that she is on top of things. We were very pleased with our stay on both occasions. The staff is very friendly and helpful and our rooms were very clean and comfortable. My wife especially enjoyed the waffles in the morning. My mother is elderly so we appreciate being able to park close to our door. The location is next to I95 so we asked for the quiet side and it was very quiet. This hotel offers an excellent value accommodation that is convenient to the highway. We'll plan to stay the next time through.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side and ground floor if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, General Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments,and for sharing your kind words about our facility and our staff. We appreciate you taking time to share your most recent experience. Your comments tell us what we are doing right, wrong and of course how we can improve. It is a pleasure to hear that we were able to meet your needs on both occasions. Until we see you next time have a most enjoyable year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a trip from Canada to Miami. After a long drive, you just wanted to get a nice clean room, comfy bed and pass out for the night. This was not at all what we got at this hotel. The room was run down, dirty walls, noisy a/c, paper thin walls, tiny beds. I was very disapointed as I was expecting something good based on the reviews I read here. Here are some pictures, you can judge for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

The best possible stay for a $50 hotel room. The lobby staff were polite coming and going. The hallway was smoky, but the room was not. The room was simple and clean. The bathroom was very clean-hot water, comfy bed, easy check-in and check-out. Not luxury, but simple, cheap, and clean. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlaango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, General Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Econo Lodge.. we appreciate your business and your comments. I apologize for the smoky hallway but unfortunately not everyone follows rules and regulations nor do they think of their fellow travelers feelings or needs. Thanks again for sharing and just know we are taking steps to alleviate this poroblem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here in late November, on way to Florida. Hotel was very clean, staff excellent, and good breakfast. Just off the interstate, very quiet. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoonerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, General Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. It is a pleasure to know that while staying you enjoyed your visit. Our team continues to strive to be the best we can be. Through your comments they tell us what we are doing right and how we can improve. Thanks again for sharing we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last night and I was really impressed. It is clean and comfortable and has front door parking, which I am beginning to appreciate more and more. It is located right behind Quincy's Steakhouse which offered a great buffet and one of the best salads I have ever eaten. Back to Econo...breakfast was good, service and checkout was efficient, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a good, clean, comfortable place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back off the highway. It is a large hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkprism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, General Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give a response on your recent stay. We do value your opinions and we look forward to seeing you next ime. Have a wonderful Holiday and we will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed on the way to Florida from Maryland. Clean, large, king room. Very pleasant clerk at check in. Well kept property. Would refer to others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OC_Mailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonda H, Manager at Econo Lodge Florence, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to take care of your overnight needs. Looking forward to seeing you again, but until then have a wonderful Holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Florence
Super 8 Florence
#22 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Florence Center
Ramada Florence Center
#24 of 41 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#18 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#25 of 41 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Florence

Property: Econo Lodge Florence
Address: 1920 W Lucas St, Florence, SC 29501-1232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 95 just north of Interstate 20, the Econo Lodge(R) hotel is a wonderful stopping point for many destinations. This Florence, SC hotel is minutes from Francis Marion University, Darlington Raceway, the Florence Museum of Art, Science and History, the Florence Little Theatre, Darlington Dragway and the Florence Civic Center. Freedom Florence Recreation Complex is eight miles from the hotel. Several golf courses and shops are nearby. Many local restaurants are within walking distance, and several of Florence's fine dining restaurants are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Florence
Florence Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing