We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and super-friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Florence Inns & Suites
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Florence
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Convenient location and super-friendly staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I picked this motel based on location and tripadvisor reviews while driving south on I-95. It clearly was an older property but the room we were in had definitely been redone. The room was large and clean. The bathroom lay-out (very tight fit with toilet/tub) showed the property's age - but it was clean and well-maintained. Microwave/fridge worked. Minor ding - hair dryer did not (and we tried several outlets/reset buttons). Good wifi performance.

The desk-clerks - both at check-in in the evening and in the morning for the continental breakfast were very friendly, very attentive and invited those staying there to come again. Truly southern hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    23
    12
    25
See reviews for
48
31
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Friendly check-in. Left early in the AM prior to breakfast but the attendant on duty got things out anyway for us to have on our early (5am) drive. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I might have passed this up but for the good recommendations of other Trip Advisors. I stayed one night while driving from Florida to NY and found the Howard Johnson to be a great value -- friendly staff, clean rooms, very convenient location and decent breakfast included in the rate. What more could a traveler ask for?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Was in town for a couple days with my wife to attend a wedding. This turned out to be a great stay considering the price we paid at the last minute of a holiday weekend. Entire staff was extremely kind and room was nice enough (though a little outdated). The location was right off of I-95 which made it easy to find my way back as I explored the area. The only negative comment I could make was that I did see a few wasps making homes outside a couple of the rooms. Obviously an easy problem to take care of, though. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to a friend and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlock, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

What a nice surprise! The room was very clean and smelled fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable and the front desk clerk, named Ms. Vickie was the best. She was very friendly and helpful. (she deserves a raise!!!) We stuck up a conversation and found that we had similar family issues so I hope all goes well for her. Our room was very nice and for the price it was well worth it! The HoJo's in my are are terrible and they all usually dirty but this one was cleaner than some of the 5 Star hotels that I have stayed in! I would recommend it to anyone traveling in the area that wants a clean, comfortable room at a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgraywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I just returned from staying there stayed in room 109. The room looked beautiful, after checking in and still suffering from getting over a partial migraine, I went into the room and went straight to sleep. Mind you I didn't check in untill 11:30pm and 5:00 I was awaken by a terrible sting on my back. I got up tthe turned on all the lights and started looking through the bed. I saw something black that appeared to be a bug, I smashed it and blood squirted out. As I called the front desk, I inspected the bed even more and of course, there were more bugs, none seemingly to look alike. The receptionist came in with a can of Hot Shot bug spray and asked me what I wanted her to do. I stood there in pure shock, after showing her the bed she said she couldn't really see anything and that I needed to talk to the owner, but he wouldn't be there untill 8:00am . She went and got me a new set of sheets and expected me to stay there. I changed the sheets and threw the others on the floor by the door. I went upstairs to my son's room and expected thier rooms theirs were cleaner and I didn't really see any bugs. So I stayed in there. I went to the front desk and tryed to descretley bring ton the owner's attention what had happened, he said that he could refund me $5 that's right five dollars, I looked at him and told him I could get a lawyer and get way more than that. I was too pissed for words I left him my information phone number and email address he said he wouod get in touch with me after the exterminators come in and inspect. It is twomdays later and i am still itching and have bumps all over my body. If anyone have any advice for me, please contact me at phaeness@yahoo.com

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phaeness90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

solomover
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Convenient to I-95. Relatively inexpensive, and you save a few dollars if you pick up a discount coupon booklet at the S.C. Welcome Center, or a rest area.

A quiet clean place that I will stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Florence
Econo Lodge Florence
#31 of 41 in Florence
202 reviews
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Florence Near Civic Center
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#23 of 41 in Florence
187 reviews
6.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
#25 of 41 in Florence
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Inns & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Inns & Suites

Property: Florence Inns & Suites
Address: 3821 Bancroft Rd, I-95 Exit 157, Florence, SC 29501-8041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florence Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Florence Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Howard Johnson Express Inn And Suites Florence
Howard Johnson Florence
Florence Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing