We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have come to rely on Wingate hotels as our hotel of choice while traveling. The Wingate in Florence, SC was as nice as any we've stayed in. The young man who was at the front desk when we checked in was friendly and helpful. Our beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the hotel quiet. Sadly, when we got up and wanted to shower before getting on the road, there was NO HOT WATER. Breakfast (included with room) was a bit better than we've had at other Wingates, except that the toaster would not toast the bread! It got hot, but the bread never toasted after two cycles. As we checked out, we reported the no hot water situation. A very non-apologetic front desk clerk said 'Some rooms are having that problem. The maintenance staff is working on it.' An apology would have gone a long way toward toward easing the inconvenience, but this man was dismissive. I expect that when we travel that way again, we will avoid the Florence Wingate.

Room Tip: Request a room with guaranteed hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Please allow me to apologize for this inconvenience. We did have some issues that morning and we are so very sorry that your room was affected by this. I can assure you this is not an every day occurrence and the clerk on duty that morning should have been more compassionate to your needs. I can not apologize enough for this. This is not our usual practices and we will address all matters that have concerned you. Thank you so much for sharing with us and we hope you will return and give us another try,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 759 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Really not much to say good or bad. The room was clean, quiet,and the heater worked well. The negatives were just that the in room coffee was not 're-stocked and the free breakfast coffee was cold. There was a combo fridge/freezer which was great as I could refreeze my cooler packs. There were so many signs in the parking lot that they are not responsible for your car that it made me think that they are having a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We do apologize for the issues with the coffee. The signs are for safety only and are scattered about to remind everyone to please never leave their valuables unattended anywhere. We are terribly sorry if it made you feel uncomfortable. We do have security on property to help ease those worries. Again, Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank karrows
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, there are train tracks nearby, and yes, the train barrels through after 10 p.m. Whoo! Whoo!
The cookies in the lobby are a nice touch. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Beds pretty comfy and they don't have those irritating little mini pillows. Our room was clean.
Upon departure, though, we located our coupon and the management reused to honor it. We were pretty disgruntled that we couldn't be credited the extra $20.
Next time we'll drive another 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwin, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Wingate. I am terribly sorry we were unable to honor your coupon at check-out. Unfortunetly it is our policy to only honor at the time of check-in and we are so very sorry if you were caused any inconvenience. Again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope one day you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#13 of 41 in Florence
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#16 of 41 in Florence
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Florence
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence

Address: 2123 W Lucas St, I-95 exit 164/Hwy 52 N, Florence, SC 29501-1204 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Florence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $85 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Florence Hotel Florence
Wingate Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing