We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing family-friendly house for water lovers”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from creek Private dock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from creek
Private dock
Dining table seats 8
Fully equipped kitchen
There are two bedrooms upstairs and two downstairs.  A full bath is located upstairs.
Second upstairs bedroom with twin beds.  Downstairs bedrooms each have a ful size bed.
Master bedroom
Upstairs bedroom with dressing table
Fishing from the dock
Hiking trails are located in the nearby Edisto State Park
Sunset from Big Bay Creek
Fun on the creek by the dock
floating dock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J377simmo...
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing family-friendly house for water lovers”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
4
people found this review helpful

House looks out over a river just a stone's throw from the ocean. You can swim and boat from the dock without the crowds and the beach is in walking and biking distance.The sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. Quiet cul-de-sac with little traffic. The house is beautiful and well maintained.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsmcleods...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Back for a second year!! Lucky us!!

Doc House on Edisto Beach, SC is an amazing place. The house and location is perfect for family-friendly vacation. It's a place to rest and to have wonderful adventures. We spend so much time on the beautiful back porch and the private docks, including a floating dock. Since the house is at the junction of Big Bay Creek and Edisto Beach, we had the best of both worlds.

We swam and kayaked in the creek (and if you like crabbing, just throw a trap in and catch your own dinner). And we even saw dolphins several mornings! The 'upper dock' is partially covered with table and chairs. Great for lunch. And the floating dock has a ladder into the water, which is perfect since our kids are beginning swimmers and were a bit cautious about just jumping in to the water.

And then just moments away is the ocean. At Edisto Beach, the kids built sand castles, found great shells (big ones), played in the surf, and even bodyboarded for the first time. It's the kind of beach that gives you enough activity to make it fun and enough solitude to make it restful. You can go to the beach at late morning and still have a prime spot just in front of the surf to set up the beach chairs, cooler, and kids toys. Yes, these places still exist!

At Doc House, the kids took advantage of the big fenced in yard and played bocci ball, Frisbee, and just ran around. All the while my husband and I watched in the 'porch' swing which hangs from a big old tree that gently rocked away all memories of work and bills and the other stuff that occupies our 'other' life.

The house itself is beautifully decorated with furniture that is attractive, but sturdy (great for busy kids). There are upstairs and downstairs 'master' bedrooms. Perfect for us since we brought along our parents (the downstairs master even has safety bars in the bathroom). The kitchen and dining room were well stocked with everything we needed. Such a nice contrast from the average condo where there are only the barest of basics. Just wonderful to be able to share a meal with family using such pretty dishes and glasses. And a dishwasher to do the washing up!

We also took a day trip to Charleston. If you've never taken the horse drawn carriage ride, it's a must. Such fun and so interesting to learn more about the "Holy City" of Charleston. We also spent some time at the Battery. The park is lovely there. Great for picnics. Then back to Edisto Island. There are some great shops and casual restaurants on the Island. We highly recommend "SeaCow Eatery" (serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner). And there are shops in the same area to buy gifts for friends and, of course, for yourself.

Then finally back to Doc House where we spent our evenings sitting on the back porch listening to the sound of water and watching for the first stars.

I'll say it again, Doc House at Edisto Beach is an amazing place. It's a beach paradise. We'll definitely be back again next year ... if not before!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LS M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Family Vacation!”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We're Coming Back for a second year!!

The DocHouse at Edisto Beach is a perfect vacation home for couples, family, and friends. The house is beautiful, well maintained, with so many amenities. The views are stunning and the back porch is a lovely place to relax for meals and family time. We spent much time at the deep water dock, where the kids swam and played in the water. And when they wanted to walk into the water rather than jump from the dock, the private launch area was perfect. And just like home, there is a fenced in yard where the children played and rode bikes while the grownups relaxed in the comfy swing. When it was beach time, Edisto beach is just around the bend. It's a beautiful beach where we found shells, played in the surf, and sat in the sun. There are great little restaurants nearby, as well as beach shops with unique gifts we bought for ourselves and for friends. And everyone at Edisto is so friendly. At the end of the day, when we spent time inside the house, we found everything we needed. The living room is spacious with a large TV. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking things and dishes. There is a big dining room table for eating and where the children did their beach artwork. There's a washer and dryer for the beach towels and swim suits. And when it was time to retire, the bedrooms and baths had everything we needed, including wonderfully comfortable beds.

Can't wait until May when we go back to The DocHouse at Edisto Beach!

Date of stay: May 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debb554
Defiance, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful views in quiet Edisto Beach”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed staying at the Doc House that is located steps away from the Marina at Edisto Beach and Big Bay Park. The morning sunrises over the Big Bay River are breathtaking. We viewed a variety of water birds such as herons, egrets, pelicans, kingfishers, and gulls and also spied a family of river otters one morning. The house is fairly well appointed. If you are flying in to the area, instead of driving, be sure to ask for linens and towels to be provided (as we did) and also hangers for the closets (we bought some from the local Dollar General and left them). The house on Edisto Beach is far enough from Charleston that there is less tourist traffic on the roads and at the beaches. Edisto has a number of great access areas for the beach -- and you won't be disappointed in the number of shells you find. There is a local Bi-Lo grocery within 10 minutes of the Doc House that makes it easy to stock the kitchen. A few tips -- check out the locally caught fish and shrimp at either Fontaine's or Flowers Seafood Company -- that you can take home to cook and enjoy. Flowers also has cooked seafood that you can order ahead and pick up to take home ready to eat. There is a craft market on Wednesday mornings (this may be just once a month) in Big Bay Park right next to the house starting at 9 AM. We found a lot of treasures to take home at the craft market. Also, in late September, Edisto Beach has a Shrimp Festival in Big Bay Park (we left the morning of the festival, so sadly we were not able to attend -- but there were a number of booths being set up and Flowers Seafood pulled in a large trailor as well for the celebration). If you want to really see the area take a boat charter out of the Marina with Newton Cooke Boykin (aka Capt'n Cooke). The two hour tour was amazing through the rivers and marshes around the Barrier Islands. We saw a number of dolphins, water birds, ospreys and a juvenile bald eagle. We also stopped at an island where we could get out an walk around and look for shells. Cap'n Cooke is very knowledgable on the area...If you want to relax and disconnect, this is the place to do it!

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to enjoy GOD'S creation.”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Edisto, South Carolina. We chose this location for the easy access to the water and we were very pleased. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed all of the amenities that were provided. We especially love the dolphins that showed up every day at 3 o'clock at the dock. The boat ramp provided easy access for our kayaks and we enjoyed paddling in the bay with the Dolphins. We hope to visit again soon!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Water access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaLee C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to get away and enjoy all Edisto has to offer.”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

From the beautiful view on the back porch, to the comfy layout of the home - even with rain we couldn't complain. Most beach homes are much too big (in cost and size) for a single family to get away and enjoy. But this one was perfect for our family to get away for a little while, and spend some time making memories together. We kayaked right off the private dock (paddled alongside dolphins, spotted lots of crabs, and even bumped into a sea turtle!), walked to the beach, visited the local market next door, biked on the island trails, watched the sunrise AND the sunset from the back porch (yes, that's right - we could see both off the dock, and enjoyed the sunset while kayaking a few times!). It was perfect. Quiet, peaceful. Not too big and not too small. Memories we'll enjoy for years to come. We are already making plans to go back next year!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing