We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SEE CASH GO!!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SeaCow Eatery

SeaCow Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Evans, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SEE CASH GO!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

OK..first of all..we did love this place when we first visited ....2 yrs ago..wow..service was good..prices were good and with quality...so it became our favorite on the island...esp the "moo cobb salad" and huge serving that my husband and i would share....priced then at 7.99!!
But that was THEN...because everytime we visited..it was not the same..prices slowly went up and service was slow..but because we love the moo salad..we kept going back.
The embarrassing part was when our family members came and join us because we were bragging about it.. eventho we were ..i guess already in denial that our cute little place is going down. There were 9 of us (5 adults and four little kids)..so obviously the kids only ordered kids meal..chicken fingers with chips..but the kids wanted fries..so we got fries which is extra. The service took so long and the kids were getting tired of waiting. By this time our beloved "moo cobb salad" is now 9.99.. a big jump..and the rest of the menu prices went up as well. When it was time to pay...our bill had an 18% gratuity which was already added to our bill which is really ridiculous..we had salad and chicken fingers..they are kids..you don't put 18%gratuity on 4 and 5 year olds period. What a disgrace..and that's how my brother in law made up a new new name for the place.. "SEE CASH GO"..we really felt ripped off and ..three days later ..we were still disgusted. Summer has gone and we all went back to our lives..but once in a while when we talked to our relatives from st louis..they still asked us if we still go to that "see cah go" place haha!! Which of course, we lied..because we are suckers for that darn moo salad..we are weak to say the least!!
But today..we are proud to say that we are done with them!! Well, since i've wasted quite a bit of my time already writing this..might as well finish it with more bad comments. Today is memorial weekend and we are so happy to start our summer back in edisto..beautiful day at the beach..but we have to eat dinner at some point...hhmm..let's see.."moo cobb salad" is calling us ..but we already know that service is slow..so i called and ordered the salad for pick-up..just the salad...they were lucky my husband went and picked it up..because if that was me..i would have left immediately with a grin and a comment that would be like "SERIOUSLY???YOU''VE GOT TO BE KIDDING"..but he is the nicer guy...
he paid a whopping $11.93!!!...because they added a 10% charge for carry out they say!!!
Never heard of that before anywhere else..you cannot win at this place!!! So go figure...keep your money in your pocket my friends...we are going to find another place!!
GOOD BYE!!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank esther34935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    257
    101
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barely OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

I wanted to like this place. The outdoor seating, although basic, was nice and the waitress friendly. Unsweetened ice tea excellent. We ordered shrimp--why not--there are local shrimp boats all around, but I can't help but think they were some processed things from Asia--processed, but not well cleaned, and certainly not tasty. Salad dressings were from a bottle--and not a gourmet bottle either. The restaurant pickings seem to be slim on Edisto.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank emileeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French Fries, French Fries, and more FRENCH FRIES!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

This place should be called the French Fry Social Club, social as in socialism. After being seated, we were greeted by our not so pleasant, sparcely trained waitress, who we don't know the name to because she didn't tell us... Our party of eight placed our orders, and drinks were served promptly. Our food was delivered in shifts, for their convenience, in about three different shifts. However, each of the entrees was missing the ordered side dishes. This is when it all turned into french fry hell. All of the missing entrees were replaced with french fries. When explaining to the waitress none of us ordered fries, the waitress told us "I know, we ran out of it [baked potatoes, cheese grits, and tomato-cucumber salad (which she referred to as "junk")], so I gave ya fries." We were not given the option of other choices for sides, because apparently everything was gone except for the lima beans and collard greens. Then we were given our checks, in which 18% gratuity was added, giving the unpleasant waitress a $25 tip. After receiving such poor service, we asked the waitress why we had to pay the gratuity and she told us "You can talk to the manager". The manager came out and "aksed" us what the matter was, and we replied telling her what was wrong. She told us the waitress was new and she didn't know the ropes of the restaurant....apparently. She took off the 18% gratuity and walked away. When leaving, the waitress knocked one of the people in our party over and slammed her dish container on the table. Then looked out the window and gave us a nasty look. The food was average quality, but pricy. However we got 8 servings of french fries...YUM...not.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FridaFrenchFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast was outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had short stack pecan pancakes and my son had the 3 plain. They loved it! I had one egg, biscuit and gravy, with bacon! We were stuffed and the staff was very nice! I spent only 30.00 for breakfast and tip. We will go back tomorrow. The best on the island so far!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MWright_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“MOO! rning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Best breakfast on the island! the grits are the very best! Great place! Great food, and service! a must! Cheap good food!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaCow Eatery also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to SeaCow Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing