We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't handle crowds. Food average.”

Pressley's at The Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't handle crowds. Food average.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were a large group (6), on a Friday night. I get that we aren't going to be able to be seated right away, but we put our name on the list. Wait time was estimated at one hour. There was live music and an open table on the pier, so we sat down. Turns, out we could order food outside, so we did. The poor server was the only one outside and unfortunately, the service suffered. The food was good, not great. the view is fantastic. The band was great, so we had that to listen to and distract us from our poor experience. After 2.5 hours on the list inside, our table was never called, so sure glad we ordered and ate outside.

There are better restaurants on the island, so it's unlikely we will return to Pressley's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    100
    39
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little pricey at dinner time but tasty”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived just after the switch to the dinner menu, and felt that our fried oysters were thus a good bit overpriced, but I'd gladly hit this place again for lunch. Our waiter was fast and friendly, and our fries, fried oysters and crab cake were all delicious. Tomato jam is available with your crab cake and is far superior to Remoulade sauce in this reviewer's humble opinion. They have a number of fruit sauces for their impressive dessert menu, and we ended up with both raspberry and key lime sauce for our key lime pie, which was terrific. This place has an indoor dining area with a great view over bay creek as well as picnic tables on its large patio/dock over the water, which is covered but not screened. Beer selection is decent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BG2004Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Southern cuisine at its finest!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

An absolutely excellent dining experience. The food all week was spectacular! The service was, by far, the best on the island and the view is perfect right before sundown. Live music on the weekends is also a great bonus! Highly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannahln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sucks!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The wait was long. Service slow. The place is small and either they dont have air conditioning or it was not functioning! it was extremely hot and humid (more than normal for the time of year). The food was edible but below average! Don't waste your time or money!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InternationalFoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and views”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for dinner and were pleasantly surprised with the service and food quality. Located upstairs at the marina. Watching boats go by was fun. The crab soup was thick and delicious. Crab cake was filled with crab. This is a casual, family friendly place to get a delicious meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pressley's at The Marina also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pressley's at The Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing