We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long walk for little activity”

Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Long walk for little activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Was a little disappointed in the findings after the long walk. We had been led to believe the shells were in abundance but were a bit scarce that day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    73
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Botany Bay, Edisto Island - Back to Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

With so much beach-front property over-developed, Botany Bay Plantation and Wildlife Preserve on Edisto Islland is truly a breath a fresh air. Accessed by a little used (and easy to miss) dirt road, this place is definitely worth experiencing. I particularly enjoyed walking out to the beach and experiencing vistas that were not: full of condos, 'erosion management groins', crowded. Rather, what I saw plenty of: sea shells, palmetto trees, birds, unspoiled marshlands, tidal creeks full of life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank light42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Botany Bay - A Natural Wonder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Upon entering Botany Bay, we were greeted by a volunteer and given a map of the area. It also contained various points of interest which could be found along the looped drive. Our first stop was the beach. The waves were pretty rough the day we went. There were lots of shells on the beach. You are not allowed to take any shells or anything else out of this area. Doing so will result in a fine of $470.00. The road is all dirt/gravel but was in very good condition. Botany Bay is only a few minutes from Edisto Beach and well worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
187 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“beautiful self-guided tour of the property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Take the self-guided tour through the property and then make sure to hit the beach. It's just a short walk to the beach and it is absolutely beautiful!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank harleechik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We recently visited Botany Bay and I would highly recommend it. You do have to take a 1/2 mile walk back to the beach so if you are able to do that (or bike it) it is well worth it. You see the beach the way people would have seen it years ago--it is beautiful. The walk to the beach is interesting also (through the tidal marshes). This was one of our favorite places on the island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank debbwym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing