We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is fantastic!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Edisto Island, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We read reviews from 4 years ago before the new owners had renovated. It is amazing! Our family came from 4 states and we were so happy to be at Edisto. The house was perfect, all new furniture, appliances, great art work and a big wooden shark and a full sized pirate sitting near the living room. I would say this was the best vacation ever!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2018
Thank you so much for this review. We will definitely pass your compliments on to the owner's.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennis f
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs a Lot of work inside and out.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house itself is OK but it needs a lot of work.

The house needs to be painted inside and out. The paint inside didn't look as it had been painted in years. The hand rails on the step inside didn't have paint on them. The paint in the living room, dining room was dirty, chipped. The paint on the outside didn't look like it had been painted in years. The siding was dirty.

The screen door on the front and back porch was torn on two sides and just hanging.
The furniture on both porches was so dirty and in bad shape that you couldn't sit on them.
One of the chairs on the front porch you couldn't sit up straight as it would lean to one side or the other.

When we arrived none of the doors (both front doors and the back door) would lock.
Called and the maintenance came over and got on front door to lock. The other front door he worked with and final got to work. After he left we got the door to lock twice. After that we just used a coat hanger to wire the door shut at night. Otherwise when we left the door was unsecured. The back door lock wasn't very good either. It worked if you worked with it from the inside of the house but was unable to lock it from outside. The only way into the house that worked all the time was the elevator. That was nice having it.

More Light bulbs were needed. The light in the front bedroom didn't have cover on it and the one bulb when out while we were there. The cover was in a drawer.

The ice maker didn't work all to well so we brought ice.

I agree with the other review that there needs to be more seating in the living room.

The dining room furniture is two outdoor steel table and chair and if you move them on the tile floor it make a lot of noise.

Over all the kitchen was well equipped, the baths were OK.

The house was very dirty when we arrived. We moved everything in the living room and had to sweep.

The air intake was very rusted and the maintenance man said he would order a new one.

The grill outside was in bad shape. the grill holding the charcoal was just about to fall apart.

Overall the house could be a really nice one if they would take some of the money and put it back into the house.

It is in walking distance of the beach just off the main road. Plenty of space for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindalee...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big enough, good floor plan, but not in prime condition”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The location is just a couple of blocks from the beach and we got two golf carts from EDISTO Essentials, which worked out great.

The floor plan worked for our family group of 16. There are 3 bedrooms downstairs - two with queen beds and one with a king bed, so that was good for people who had trouble running up and down stairs. The other bedrooms were upstairs. Each shared a bath with an adjoining room.

The main floor is open with living, dining and kitchen together. It is roomy and the dining room table was huge. Great for communal meals and games.

There was not enough seating in the living area for a large group so we brought in chairs from the porch.

Nice big front and back screen porches. Some screens were broken or missing and these were repaired while we were there.

The overall condition of the house and furnishings was not up to par. There was no living room coffee table. Light bulbs were burned out here and there. The dishwasher had a broken top rack. The whole place, inside and out, needed to be painted. The beds were extremely squeaky. Not enough towel racks, no wastebaskets in most bathrooms. Etc. etc.

It had plenty of plates, glasses, and other kitchen equipment, and a good washer and dryer.

I would say it is fine if you need the space but don't expect it to be in mint condition. The rest of our group stayed at the Tucked Away, 3101 Fort St., and it was gorgeous but didn't have as many bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, floorplan, location, big dining table, front and back screen porches
Liked least: Condition.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2013
The location and size of this home with the views of the Plantation Golf Course will meet just about any families vacation plans. I will make sure the homeowner hears your comments about the living area seating. With such large families using the home the walls will probably need painting. We have put in work orders for additional towel bars and our staff to do a kitchen inventory and add wastebaskets. The owners of "Tucked Away" use their home a lot and have made it more of their "home away from home", while the owners of "Tracey Lee" only get to visit just a few times a year - if that. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to your next Edisto vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing