We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch, cure eclectic spot”

McConkey's Jungle Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Savannah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch, cure eclectic spot”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

5 children and 4 adults enjoyed a yummy lunch at this cute spot right across from the beach. The grilled mahi tacos and chicken cashew sandwich were out of this world! The burgers and fried fish tacos got two thumbs up from those that ate them as well. And the kids happily ate chicken fingers, corn dogs and cheese quesadillas. Our server, Christine, was helping out her mom the owner for a few days. She was by far the best server I have ever had at any kind of restaurant! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Edisto.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    211
    81
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The choice of seating is outdoors on a deck which has full western (afternoon) exposure, or a screened in porch area, perhaps 16 x 30. Nothing fancy at all. We had fried pickles which were hot and fresh, grilled cheese and fish & chips. All were tasty in a fried sort of way. beer was cold and the sangria was outstanding. Just a very casual beachy place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers in a seafood town.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have now been here twice and enjoyed everything. The fish sandwich and Monte Cristo sandwich were both good but the burgers are delish! Tables are sticky but they are clean, just the wrong type of varnish. Onion rings were greasy but super tender. We shall return on our next trip to Edisto!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sacsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Jungle Shack”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

In Edisto Beach for work & stopped at the McConkey Jungle Shack for lunch. They were busy and there was a wait. We started to leave & the hostess asked us to "wait a few" and she'd seat us. We got seated and had drinks in a few minutes, ordered, and had food in 10 mins. We had flounder sandwich and shrimp & chips- very fresh, very good. Give them a try!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best on the beach”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere, good food and dog friendly. Great place. They are community minded and it's a nice local hangout. The specials in the off-season are wonderful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edistotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConkey's Jungle Shack also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McConkey's Jungle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing