We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch place prior to checking in for our beach week”

McConkey's Jungle Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Virginia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch place prior to checking in for our beach week”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nice little restaurant with screened porch and open outdoor seating. We stopped for lunch prior to checking into the Wyndham Beach Walk house. I had the shrimp basket with chips and slaw, it was totally great. Wife had Greek pita, she said it was good. Daughter had the chicken salad, it is a curry base, she enjoyed it. Son in law had the mahi tacos and a side of onion rings, they disappeared, so I guess they were good too, actually I had one of the onion rings and they were good. Nice family place

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank afyrfytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    216
    82
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A family favorite for lunch,”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great place for a casual beach lunch. Fish tacos, Charlie wrap and curry chicken salad are among our family favorites.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fast food - won't be back”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food here was not great. It was pretty much fast food. The nachos were just chips from the bag with a few slices of cheese melted on them - and the fried shrimp and fish & chips platter were nothing special. The beer is all bottled, and they don't serve tap water - it's also bottled water. The restaurant, which really is like a shack, is small; all seating is outdoor in a screened patio. The servers were all very nice, but because of the food, we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were pleased with our food and service. The fish tacos were great. The service was good, but seating is limited. I recommend arriving for an early dinner

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SD6z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Funky Local & Beachy”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

we had a great lunch--friendly, lots of locals--best fried seafood! And amazing house-made Key Lime pie--not cloying at all. Best I've ever had. We even got to take home some of their own hot sauce.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizardpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConkey's Jungle Shack also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McConkey's Jungle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing