We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we had in South Carolina”

The Old Post Office Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Edisto Island
Price range: $22 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: From the restaurant's web site:"Featuring a selection of your favorite foods served in the Low Country. We welcome you to a restored tradition and a fresh beginning. Foods of the South are designed by chef Cherry Smalls."Full bar. Serving dinner Tue–Sat from March–Oct, dinner Wed–Sat Nov, Dec and Feb. Closed Jan."This is the most prominent building that you're likely to see as you drive through the forests and fields across Edisto Island. About 5 miles from the beach, the restaurant was once a combination post office and general store, as its weathered clapboards and old-time architecture imply."— Frommer's
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in South Carolina”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The decor is cute. The wait staff was personable. The seafood is fresh and well prepared. We four had crab cakes, salmon, shrimp, and scallops, served with a grits dish. Very nice!! Save room for dessert because that too is excellent. Thank you for a memorable meal!!

Helpful?
6 Thank CJGurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
CJGurnee,
Very happy to know that our staff created a memorable meal for you during your visit. We strive to make sure all of our guest have a wonderful and memorable visit. Thank you for your business and a great review.
Sincerly
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved this little restaurant on Edisto. When it shut down for awhile we were highly upset. So glad to know it has re-opened. This is where we had grits prepared the correct way to be creamy and dreamy, unlike the Waffle House etc. The food is so good and such a sweet romantic little place. The fabulous fresh veggies that Edisto Island is famous for are served in this great restaurant! Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank RW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
RozP
Thanks for finding us again after the change in ownership and for your returned business and recommendations. We hope that upon your next visit you'll join us again for dinner.
Thank you,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have eaten at the Post office each year we visit Edisto and it is consistently a great meal. The fish is always fresh and the appetizers entrees and sides are very tasty. It has a small but beautiful garden that is great for pictures, especially at sunset. Can't wait till June so we can go back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank mooresoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
mooresoflex,
So happy to have you as a repeat customer and appreciate your kind words and business.
Looking forward to your return.
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant is a "tradition" in Edisto and surrounding counties. It has had some "ups and downs" in recent years, including being closed for a year. I am happy to report that it is up and running and it doesn't seem to have missed a beat. We went there on New Year's eve to celebrate 2013. The food was prepared perfectly! Very fresh, creative, and flavorful!! The wait staff was well trained and attentive. The prices are a bit on the upper end but not exceedingly so. Definitely worth visiting this establishment. You won't be sorry that you did.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TennesseeChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
TennesseeChemist,
What a great way to kick off the New Year! It was wonderful to read your review and thank you for your recommendation and business. We hope that you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just SO-SO”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Was not real impressed with the food. Fish was frozen...not fresh! The staff was helpful and attentive! The building was interesting and had quite a history!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Martin1611,
Thank you for your business and review about our staff and building. Unhappy to learn you weren't impressed with your food but I can certainly say our fish isn't frozen. We strive to provide the best seafood products (fish,crab,scallops,oysters,etc..) available both locally and out of Charleston. Thanks, Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Post Office Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing