We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good beach campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edisto Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edisto Beach State Park Campground
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“really good beach campground”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here for most of the week (beach campground) in a pull-behind trailer with 5 kids. Our campsite was against the marsh, which was great, as the kids could walk out on in it at low tide. And it was only a very short walk to the beach. If you go, make sure to make the trek all the way to the North end of the island, and walk back in and along the tidal creek and mudflats at both high and low tide. Easy drive into town. The bath-house is a little bit weathered, but perfectly serviceable. The only warning I'd give has to do with the roads. There's a main road along the marsh side (and which loops up at the North end). It's plenty big enough for whatever you're driving. There's also a loop just to the east of this that services a row of sites along the back of the dunes. This road winds between lots of trees, and is only suitable for smaller campers. There's no signage to tell you this, though, so you really need to do a recon beforehand if you're going to get off of the main strip.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you choose to stay August is very hot and buGgy. I would like to try May.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler48962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwork2play
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have given this campground at least 5 chances. Every time i leave saying that i will not go back...the last time was really the last time. I have stayed in the overflow at least 3 times, and it actually comes with better customer service. In my opinion it is because nobody is jockeying to camp there, so it's easy to be pleased. Two times i have camped on the ocean side. Once after i had set up camp a ranger came to tell me that i had to move because Betty in the guard shack promised the site to another couple the night before. (this was a first come first serve site) I told him that i was sorry that i had paid for the site, and the site number is on my rearview mirror tag, and that i was already set up. THE RANGER TOLD ME THAT IF I DID NOT MOVE MY CAMP THEN HE WOULD. If i had not been exhausted from the drama i would have left then. I did go back last year with a friend, and nothing has changed. I will never go back. The state park needs to be turned into a KOA so that it will have some order to it's disorganization. Hunting Island State Park is perfect and very close.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iwork2play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

At first glance, this town is picturesque and quaint, and you might imagine a laid-back atmosphere because there aren't many crowds. Interaction with the locals turned us off, though. Everyone just seemed unhappy with their lives and resentful that we were there, shopping in their shops or eating at their restaurants--and this was the people serving! Not friendly, to say the least. We just wanted a place to tent camp ($17), but were overcharged the trailer parking fee of $26+ fees/tax came to $31. We ended up leaving at 11 pm that night, instead of staying over to visit the beach a 2nd day. Crossing Edisto off our list of beaches to re-visit.

Room Tip: Campsites have varying degrees of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlhreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We loved this campground, and it was just what our family needed for a retreat to celebrate my husband returning from Iraq and the last excursion before school started back. The trees were gorgeous, sites were level, everything was clean. The trails were absolutely lovely, great for biking or walking. I love Edisto. We had 2 sites reserved, one for the first half of the week, and we had to move to another site for the remaining part of the week. Upon arrival we asked if there was a site open in the non-reservable that we could use instead so we wouldn't have to switch sites. The lady in the booth snapped at us and told us they were all full. So we went on to our site, no problem. We decided we would check out the Beach Area Campground too, as we were staying in Live Oak. We asked early Friday morning if there were any non-reservable sites available at the Beach area since we had to move anyway. Same lady, same snippy answer. She didn't even check the computer to see if they were full or if there had been any cancellations. A ranger later told us that there are several sites that are non-reservable that we could have parked in. We moved to our other site in Live Oak, and someone had ripped out the 50 amp service. We have a 37' Raptor - 30 amps won't cut it, and the 30 amp breaker had already melted before we used it. My husband went to tell the booth attendant and she was busy on the computer and snapped at him and told him he would have to wait. He was the only one standing there in the middle of the woods. He tried to tell her about the electrical problem and she basically told him to deal with it! We were traveling with 2 kids and a dog. It was hot. We needed air conditioning bad. The breaker eventually kicked, as we knew it would. Thankfully we have a generator - but I can't imagine the other campers were happy at 5:30 am when we had to fire it up. The head ranger visited us later to see how long our power had been out. He was familiar to the issues we had experienced with the booth attendant. We were refunded one nights stay. This definitely soured our trip. I don't think the booth attendant ever realized she was there to assist the campers, not surf the web. It was miserable to have an issue and no one to be able to help you with it. We have a damaged adapter now too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Riverbreezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We camped at Edisto Island April 3rd-9th, 2010. We were in site 61 with a 30 foot travel trailer. The site was very unlevel but good sized. The only weird thing was that site 8 was directly in back of our camper...a strange location for another site. The reason it was strange was because the other sites around us didn't have someone "in their backyard". It is a smaller campground so it isn't too busy and everyone around us was pretty quiet. We had 3 other families with us in sites 57, 59, and 63. All of them were pretty unlevel but otherwise good sized.
Aside from that, the location was very near to beach access...maybe 300ft to the ocean..very easy walk! The beach was small - width wise- when the tide was in. There were tons of shells but most of them were oyster shells. We did occasionally stumble upon a nice sized welk. If you like the exercise, go north on the beach to the end and you'll find lots of shells when the tide goes out. But get there early, it tends to be a busy place for seashell hunters. You can ride your bike on the beach "north" but don't attempt to ride south. There are seawalls every half mile or so. So you have to get off your bike to make it over them.
It was a little bit of a walk to the comfort station. I didn't use it but my daughters did daily and said it was very nice and kept very clean.
The people of Edisto were not very friendly...I didn't feel like they really liked having tourists in their area. But without the tourists they wouldn't have businesses-right? There isn't really anything to do there as far as amusement type stuff. That was fine with us but my teenage daughters got bored. There are a couple of nice biking trails and sites to see over in the Live Oak Campground area. There is also a bike lane on the highway-but it's pretty scary to ride along there, especially if you have younger children.
The BP gas station had two very nice gift shops, one with the basic tourist stuff like t-shirts, jewelry, etc... The other side had nicer decorative "beach" items.
The dump station is in a ridiculous and inconvenient place. We stayed for a week and had to dump once. But you can't pull your blue container to the dump because it is located down a couple miles off the highway...not even in the state park! You can attempt to pull it if you have a sturdy blue tank and want to drive under the speed limit on the highway. But everyone we were with had to lift their tank into the bed of their truck to take it to the dump.
We went out to eat one night looking for good seafood. We went to Sunset Grille over by the marina. I would not recommend this place. It was very high priced and the food was not that good. All of us had the same "vege mix" of cauliflower, brocolli and carrots that looked like it was frozen then microwaved. I ordered stuffed flounder and my husband ordered the crab cakes. I think the stuffing in the flounder was the crab cake stuff and a little to much stuffing. For four of us, the meal was $111. Go somewhere else for seafood!
Over all it was a good camping trip but we won't be going back. We have stayed many times at Hunting Island State Park and prefer that beach and the area, which has more to do.
Email me if you have questions.
[--]

Helpful?
7 Thank mpjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Camped at EB State Park, in the Live Oak Campground with my dog. The trails were wonderful and really close to the beach. Although, there is also a campground at the beach as well. The facilities were very clean and the staff was wonderful. Seems like a popular place for campers of all kinds... tents to motor coaches. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank SSchauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edisto Island
11.3 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
439 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
23.5 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
98 reviews
22.8 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#11 of 15 in Beaufort
222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
#1 of 1 in Edisto Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edisto Beach State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edisto Beach State Park Campground

Property: Edisto Beach State Park Campground
Address: 8377 State Cabin Rd, Edisto Island, SC 29438-6834
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Edisto Island
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
Edisto Beach State Park Campground Hotel Edisto Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing