We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Edisto Tradition! Awesome Seafood & Service!”

The Waterfront Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Edisto Tradition! Awesome Seafood & Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Waterfront is our "go to" destination for the best fried shrimp, flounder and other seafood on Edisto Beach. Not only is the seafood among the freshest to be found, it is also the most masterfully cooked on the beach.

Tonight I had fried flounder, which was very tasty. My wife enjoyed her fried shrimp -- always a great choice here -- and delighted in its expertly prepared goodness.

True, like other Edisto Beach restaurants, it can get crowded and busy during the tourist season -- especially around dinnertime. But I have always delighted in the great meals service we consistently get here. When there is a wait, we either have a drink at the small bar or else browse the adjacent gift shop.

Also, The Waterfront is our favorite place for Sunday Brunch on the island,. Whether it is breakfast/brunch or lunch, the selection is always great and the food is hot and fresh. One of our favorites is the Crème Brulée French Toast.

I recommend The Waterfront to all my friends and relatives who visit Edisto Beach who are eager to experience the best prepared seafood of any sit-down restaurant on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    208
    82
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seems to get better & better each year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We travel to Edisto Beach every year and have eaten at The Waterfront on Friday night prior to departing on the following Saturday morning for several years now and it seems to just get better & better each year. Actually arrived before they opened at five, with a party of 11, but they went ahead and seated us early and took our drink orders. Joe, our waiter, did an excellent job in accommodating our needs for one family member with very specific food alleriges. Good job!!! There was a wide variety of items ordered and they all seem to be VERY fresh and cooked properly...no complaints at all. Great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, Good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

During our family vacation, we ate at the Waterfront Restaurant on a Friday night. While it was typically busy, they told us a wait time, it was less than half what we were told. Seated and served drinks almost immediately. We had a variety of seafood dinners, all were tasty. Our server was very easy to work with and took very good care of us. Would recommend this restaurant for larger groups eating out while on Edisto Island, as it can handle those types of groups better than others on the island.

www.edistobeach.com/directorydocs/waterfrontmenu.php‎
136 Jungle Road Edisto Island. SC 29438. Phone: 843-869-1400

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank afyrfytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meals,Reasonable prices, and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed our annual visit to the island by spending two evenings at The Waterfront.Our waitress,Sarah was attentive and very helpful.I requested that my Waterfront Pasta get a little spicier treatment and the chef hit the right spot.The scallops,shrimp, mussels,and sausage were cooked to perfection.(both times) My wife enjoyed two different salmon dishes and she indicated the crab stuffed salmon was terrific.I don't know who is writing the negative reviews,but it is not for the restaurant that we have enjoyed for the past several years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Help630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service and food was excellent for party of eleven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Sara was exceptional with the service tonight. All plates came out hot and together. We ordered everything from the usual fried shrimp to Scallops St. Pierre. Get the hush puppies too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richfromanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing