We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Ocean Ridge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
GreenLeadersGold level
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Ocean Ridge!”
Reviewed May 31, 2007

We recently went to Edisto Island for the first time. We were there from 5/27/07 through 5/31/07. Ocean Ridge is about 26 miles off of Hwy. 17. We thought we would never get there. Once arriving, we discovered that it was not the typical beach town. The only fast food chain that we saw was a Subway in the local gas mart. Anyway, we got checked in and our unit was in Marsh Point. There was a pool at this set of villas which our daughter enjoyed each day. The room was nice and clean. At 10:00 pm the first night, we discovered that we did not have any sheets for the sofa sleeper. I called the housekeeping number and got security that said, "Sorry". Housekeeping closes at 9:00 p.m. She asked what time we checked in and I said about 4:30 pm and she said you should have called earlier. I told her that we didn't think to look for sheets until time for bed. She said that she was busy checking in other guests and would call me back. After about 20 minutes, she called and said I had to come to the security gate at the main entrance to get them. I was not happy about getting out that late at night to get sheets. She stated that she could not bring them. It was probably 1/2 mile or more to the gate. Anyway, I ended up going to get them as we needed them. The beach was probably 2 miles away. Fairfield had a beach cabana but no one told us that you had to pay $10 at the front desk when checking in to be able to use the beach chairs and umbrella. Units do not have DVD players! The recreation center was probably 1 mile away and we enjoyed playing the free mini golf. DD painted a tote bag one day for $6 and we went on a seashell tour with Fairfield for $2 each. We enjoyed that as they knew where to go to get more shells than we would have. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Edisto Island. We probably would not go there every year, but maybe some other time.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shopnfun2me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    156
    107
    81
    75
See reviews for
245
158
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

My parents have timeshare points through Fairfield/Wyndham and we decided to spend our family vacation at Edisto Beach this year. We went May 12-19, 2007. Now the trip to Edisto was long (we're from Clinton, NC) and the road was winding and yeah we went through some little towns on the way that weren't so appealing, but when we actually arrived in Edisto Beach...we were very impressed! This is a small, non-commericialized beach community and it is absolutely lovely just the way it is. There is 1 grocery store and a few little beach shops and a few local restaurants. There are no interstates or shopping malls or large crowds to be found...anywhere! In our opinion, this is a great thing! We were placed in a unit in Marsh Point. Our unit overlooked a little strip of water that branched off the sound. It is my understanding that the only part of the resort with a true soundfront view is at Bay Point. None of the units are oceanfront and traveling to the beach requires a vehicle or a ride on the resort-operated golf carts (they'll come pick you up). But even without a spectacular ocean view, we were quite happy. Every day we watched the tides go in and out from the sound. On two separate afternoons we rode over to the Bay Point units and watched the sun set on the boardwalk there. And we saw dolphins there both times! It was beautiful. The Marsh Point unit itself was very nice and the building was actually undergoing some rennovation when we were there. We saw guys taking in new mattresses and tvs to our neighboring units, which were vacant during our stay. My only real complaints with our unit was that the soundproofing wasn't the greatest. I could hear our upstairs neighbors walking around in the mornings, but it wasn't so terrible that I couldn't deal with it. The 2nd bedroom in our unit did not have a tv, only the living area and master had tvs. Other than that, it was great. Marsh Point also has elevators and a heated pool, which aren't widely available at all of the units at Ocean Ridge, so we got lucky on that part. If you are looking for a peaceful and restful beach vacation without all the crowds, Edisto is the place to go. Oh and it was only about 50 mins from Charleston and about 90 mins from Savannah. We took trips to both cities during our stay and we loved it! In Edisto, we ate one evening at the Sunset Grille, which was pretty decent but a bit pricey. We also ate a Po Pigs Bo-B-Q one night, which was very reasonably priced, but you won't like it you don't like Southern style buffets (but we loved it). In Charleston, I recommend eating at Hyman's Seafood, and in Savannah we ate at One-Eyed Lizzy's. Both had great food and great prices. Contrary to some reports on here, we had absolutely no problem with the Fairfield staff - they were very friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our quiet little vacation at Edisto. And I believe anyone who goes there with the right expectations will enjoy it as well.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet, lots of relaxation.
  • Disliked — Needs work on better soundproofing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank ncgirl1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We had a two bedroom unit in Sea Oaks and it was so in need of updating that we wondered how the resort is not embarrassed to put people in it. We had bugs in both bedrooms and when we called to have our room changed, we were told there was nothing they could do about it.
Grounds - the surrounding area is very nice.
Golf course - we do not play golf but the golf course was beautiful and well maintained.
Restaurant- they opened a new restaurant called the Plantation Grill. We ate there 3 times and it was delicious each time.
Edisto Island is an extremely boring place, so if you are going there for complete relaxation (or to play golf) this is the place for you.
Area restaurants - all the other restaurants in the area were filthy dirty and the service was horrible and the food was disgusting. I don't think any of these restaurants have ever heard of a cleaning service.
Beach - very nice and clean

  • Liked — the on sit restaurant
  • Disliked — dirty, outdated two bedroom unit
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeecupnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edisto Island hotels

midwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We spent two weeks this March at the Fairfield/Wyndham resort. The overall experience was very nice and the staff was exceptionally helpful. The first week my husband and I stayed in a two bedroom unit which was dated but clean and very comfortable. The second week we moved with our son, daughter-in-law and two year old grandson to a two story freestanding unit called Beachwalk. This was a newer unit outside the main resort campus but within walking distance of the Atlantic. For our purpose this was a perfect arrangement. While the Atlantic water is cold, we enjoyed the beaches both on that side and on the sound side. We spent a lot of time on the beaches! Even with only a few of the restaurants open there was plenty of good sea food to take out which is a great to eat when in the company of a two year old. And the Piggly Wiggly market carries a great variety of food and has a good deli. I recommend this spot for good family fun. We hope to return next year.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some of the units were quite dated
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jocoroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

We just returned from a week at Edisto Island - Ocean Ridge, staying in the Bay Point units. Although we were not on the ocean, (none of the resort is), we were on the sound and it was lovely. It is the best location for fabulous sunsets, watching all the birds (and going out to feed them), and best of all, watching the dolphins. The very first evening after arrival, they came thru to feed and play and some came within 20-30 feet of us. It was great. Edisto itself is beautiful - natural, quiet - great for jogging, walking, and bicycling. We had read that the water was terrible, but our unit had a filtering system, and, tho' I had taken bottled water, the water from the system was fine. We took some food, ate out 3 times, once in Charleston, and bought shrimp from Flowers Seafood on the advise of a local, and had boiled shrimp 3 times. Our unit was well maintained, decorated and clean. Staff was quite helpful, especially with questions about where things were. Also--for scrapbookers, Crafts By the Sea has good "stuff" and the owner is very enthusiastic and helpful. I highly recommend a visit there. We hope to return to Edisto soon. If you are looking for a busy, hectic beach area, do not go to Edisto. Abuelanan

Helpful?
6 Thank Abuela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We're timeshare points owners through Fairfield (now Wyndham Vacations) and exchanged for the Ocean Ridge property over the Thanksgiving holiday. The property itself was spread out and our 2 bedroom unit was fine and clean, but really nothing special. In our unit, the decor was a bit dated and living room furniture didn't really match the wall hangings and other decorations, for example, but then I''m not an interior decorator, so it didn't matter.

We had the full kitchen, etc so were able to save money by eating in half the time. I wished they'd have internet connection in the units, but alas, you had to go to the check-in center for wireless or could take your turn on the computer provided. Units also only have VCRs, not DVD players. Couldn't comment on landscaping because of the time of year, but there were ponds that didn't look scummy.

Because it was off season and chilly, there wasn't much to do and the few shops that were open at all closed up early. No surprise there - we went for the r & r, so we did walk the beach and get shells, etc. Found a couple of nice bookshops that offered used books and featured local authors - otherwise there didn't seem to be many shops or restaurants (4-5?) right on the island. This is perfect for those of us who like our beach experience calming - not for those who want nightlife and boardwalks.

Two days we drove about an hour to do touristy-things in Charleston. If you have to make choices due to time like we did, I highly recommend the Gulah bus tour, Middleton Plantation and Southern Carriage Tours. We ate at Hyman's seafood restaurant in Charleston because we had a coupon and it was very family-oriented, good service with a cheerful server and good food. Not 4-star, but good!

Helpful?
5 Thank PennStater84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in a 2 BR villa overlooking the sound. Beautiful view, watched dolphons every morning, and walking the beach was 1 minute away. Actually the Sound, but it's a decent beach. Service was awful during check in, and front desk knew little about the area, but recreation was very polite and helpful. Asked for a few more towels and we were told they only give out towels for emergencies! No kidding. Same for pillows! Met some people at the pool who asked for a blanket and were told "no chance"! What you see is all you get. Don't ask for more. No DVD players, but you can rent them for 10.00 a night-silly. Aside from the poor service and lack of concern for guests, the unit was clean and bright, pool was heated and clean, and the island is a delight, if you like no traffic and quiet. Islanders were VERY friendly, you will feel like you travel back in time. Charleston is 50 minutes away, and a great city to Visit. Kids loved touring the aircraft carrier, the market is neat, and restaurants are abundant. Our family enjoyed 2 days there. Beaufort is a hidden gem, pretty area with a small historic area. Overall, great place if you don't expect the resort to be concerned with small things. Not at all the usual Fairfield solid service. Still worth the trip due to it's awesome location.

  • Liked — View from back balcony, location, quiet island, friendly islanders
  • Disliked — Worst service in Fairfield group, no high speed internet, no DVD.
  • Tips/Secrets — Trip to Charleston, kids & adults will like the USS Yorktown, and see the Fort.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Hobiecat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edisto Island
13.5 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
408 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
20.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
97 reviews
20.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
912 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Property: Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Address: 1 King Cotton Rd, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3606 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Ridge Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Edisto Island
Edisto Island Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing