We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, pretty grounds, so-so room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great staff, pretty grounds, so-so room”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom unit at the Village the first week of OctobeWe were gurests of an owner. The property's grounds were very well cared for; the pool and hot tub were adequate; the location was convenient - the marina and a good fish market were just minutes away; and the staff was very responsive and made sure our unit was well-equipped (a bunch of kitchenware was missing when we arrived, and a supervisor on the housekeeping crew went out of her way to replace all of the missing items within 30 minutes. Kudos.) Nonetheless, I can only give it a 3-star rating because the unit itself was tired and needed some TLC. Two of the three stairwell lights outside the unit were out; the bed was squishy and sagged a lot; there was a small hole (we could see pipes) and some crumbling plaster in a wall in the bathroom; the dishwasher didn't work so well; the carpet was stained; the walls are thin (we could hear our neighbors flush their toilet) and the whole unit could have used a fresh coat of paint. Still, we managed just fine - you don't go to the beach to hang out inside, after all. Just be aware, when you book, that this is not a luxury resort. It's more like staying at a friend's slightly run-down beach condo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nationalparkslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    158
    109
    81
    77
See reviews for
248
162
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnwell, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Oct. 2013, I was a guest of an owner, in a 2 bedroom unit at Bay Point, which is on the sound and not really ocean front. PERFECT!! It was quieter than ocean front without waves crashing 24 hrs a day, we had a GREAT view of the sound with dolphins feeding and frolicking everywhere, people in kyaks, and shrimpers. We could walk right out back of the units onto the 'beach' and walk for a long way around the point, looking for shells and enjoying the calm, clearer water on that side of the island. There were four of us, mature sisters, and we had plenty of space, found the unit clean and well stocked with linens, toiletry samples, and kitchen wares. The appliances were clean and quite adequate, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean when we arrived.

Tips: front bedroom blinds let in a good bit of light from the outside lights, all night long. The twin beds are comfy but make a lot of creaking and groaning noises on the platforms every time someone turns over or gets up. Sleeping masks and earplugs will be in my next bag, as I am a restless and light sleeper. (But I do hope to go back!) Buy ice at the market, the fridge didn't have any. Take your own coffee and creamers if you want better than motel quality-quantity. If you have a deck, even with one above you, cover your table and chairs before bed or tip them over to not hold water, as it rained a little each night and everything was soaking when we wanted to sit out with our coffee.

Eating out adventures: lunch at The Pavillion was a disaster, from the sloppy, untrained waitress, the soured iced tea, and the ketchup bottle that she dropped on the floor and picked up and placed on our table, to the mediocre food. Several tables of guests left before ordering! Dinner at Whaley's was excellent, not much too look at outside or inside, typical beach bar atmosphere bur really good fresh seafood and divine thin freshly fried potato chips they call "raw fries". Had a good meal previously at the Waterfront, also, just very slow service but truly good food. The best: drive into Hollywood, about 30 minutes, and have dinner at The Old Firehouse Restaurant. Casual dining atmosphere with a very sophisticated menu, good wine list, wood oven pizzas and two very young but highly capable chefs. An expensive, celebration meal on my budget, but so worth it, so worth it!! And try to go out to Botany Bay (not on Tues, they are closed) to see amazing, untouched raw seashore and salt marsh, plus drive the tour around the old plantation grounds....and it's all FREE!!! The little museum and gift shop on the island is well worth the minimal fee to go through it, much history of the island and Botany Bay. Love me some Edisto Island, y'all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnwellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Ridge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the unit accommodations and beautiful view. We hope you come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just returned from another lovely quiet stay at the Wyndham @ Edisto Beach. First, you should not expect a luxury resort....Ocean Ridge has made many improvements since our last visit but is still in need of much updating. It is located on Edisto Island which is a 23 mile drive down a 2 lane road until you reach the island. It seems that after Labor Day, the island is very quiet with very few people....which is why we choose this time of year to go! I can't imagine how crowded it must be in the summer months. However, the beaches are beautiful and the fishing is great...Go with the expectation of just relaxing while you're there. We stayed in a 4 bedroom unit at Southpoint which was huge with updated furniture. However, the bathrooms (showers) needed some maintenance and the top upstairs bedroom's bed was just awful...However, it was great for the 7 of us...plenty of room and plenty of bathrooms. I can't speak to the other units although we did hear from some other guests who weren't very pleased with the condition of their units. I recommend shopping for your groceries before you head to the island as there is only one small grocery store that will be undergoing renovations shortly. I also recommend taking a walk down to the beach at night to check out the stars....just beautiful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachfamilyBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Ridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback including some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recent poor reviews made us worried about our vacation rental but out beautiful spacious unit in the Villages is gorgeous clean updated and well appointed! There is normal wear and tear but this whole property is well maintained and quite enjoyable! Great pool, easy access to bike path and beaches. Edisto Beach is quaint quiet and charming!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank christinajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Ridge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort amenities and area activities. We hope you come back to visit for another charming vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My mother and stepfather have a timeshare and we visit Edisto Island every year as a family. We stayed for 1 week in the Sea Oak Condos #309. From the moment we walked in the door it was a disappointment. The decor is very outdated and the condo was so dirty. My boyfriend stepped out on the deck of the second level to make a phone call and sat down in the uncomfortable plastic chairs. He was then stung multiple times by yellow jackets that had a nest underneath the chair. That just shows that no one had been on that deck to clean or had moved around the chairs recently. The other deck, located off the first floor had a lopsided plastic table and only 2 plastic chairs. There were 8 of us staying for a week. Lucky for us, the unit next door was vacant so we borrowed the 3 chairs from that deck. Most of the dishes in the cabinet were dirty and had to be washed before using them. There was only 1 dresser in the entire unit and the drawers were very dirty. About midway into our week stay, we needed more paper towels, so I stopped by the front desk. I was told they were completely out of paper towels and had them ordered. Fine, we can buy our own paper towels, no big deal. In the past, we have stayed in other units located on the resort and haven't had too many problems like this. The main consistency with all the units we've stayed in is outdated decor and cleanliness. Really hoping that Wyndham will step it up and make things nicer for all guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LeslieShue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edisto Island hotels

Roswell NM
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our second time to visit Edisto Beach. We reserved a 2 br. plus unit. We're platinum owners, and we're used to Gold Crown resorts. I don't think this resort would be able to earn a Gold Crown. The unit we had was roomy and spacious - three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms plus one huge jacuzzi room off by itself. There were several levels - not great for seniors of those with disabilities. The decor was old and tired...it needs to be retired. The windows were dirty from the inside, spoiling the view of the lovely golf course out of our large picture window. I felt the unit was clean and the beds were comfortable, everything was just tired. Probably the biggest disappointment was ZERO Wi-fi. The last time we were here, we had to take our computers to the check in center to get wifi. We were told each unit had it. WRONG! It didn't work at all the entire time we were there. The staff was nice. I'd love to see this lovely place be given the TLC to bring it up to where it should be. We love the island. The sunset on the beach is spectacular. I've never seen so many shells on the beaches, and I even found two shark teeth.

Room Tip: Ask for something that has been updated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have vacationed on Edisto off-and-on at Wnydham over the past 20 years. A wonderful getaway location for those who like the beach the way it once used to be. Good golf course, biking, quiet beaches, tennis, boating, fishing, etc. No hi-rises, chain restaurants.
We have been very disappointed in watching the Wndham resort locations on the island deteriorate from Gold Crown to junk status. This is not what we expect from Wyndham resort locations. If you enjoy your timeshare experiences this is one location you don't want to tour except maybe for the gifts they ply you with but don't buy.

We stayed at the Baypoint Villas subdivision which is walking distance to the beach. The buildings used to be quite nice with good room layouts. They look good from a distance but have badly deteriortaed inside and out. The outside siding needs a good cleaning and all the peeling paint on the wood decks and trim redone. Dirty nooks and crannies on the stairwell, outside deck.

The inside needs a real refresh but worst of all is how dirty everything was. The cleaning crews do a horrible job. We found garbage behind one of the dressers and inside kitchen cabinets. We had to clean the tub abnd shower before using There was hair and dirt in the hot tuib sio we gave up on wanting to use it. The air ducts were filthy

The furniture was dated and the cushions had no life left in them. When you went to sit down your butt almost banged on the floor. Some areas of the ceiling had peeling paint especially in the bathrooms. The woodwork was so scuffed and dirty it was beyond and scrubbing to clean it off. Kitchen countertops were worn bare in spots.

All these faults take away from the nice room layouts, and overall vacation experience on Edisto. Don't waste your timeshare points/weeks at Wnydham on Edisto. There are many nice properties on the island that you can rent relatively inexpensively especially in the off-season.

Room Tip: Don't stay at any of the subdivisions of Wyndham on Edisto except "The Village". This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Ridge, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi Sara,

It is so great to hear how much you have enjoyed visiting the Edisto Island area, however we are so very sorry to hear of your disappointment with our resort property in regards to the unit cleanliness and maintenance. Please know that we do use feedback to continue finding ways to improve our location for our owners and guests. We will do our best to focus on key areas of improvement. Thank you so much for providing this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edisto Island
13.5 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
20.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
20.1 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Property: Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Address: 1 King Cotton Rd, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3606 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Ridge Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Edisto Island
Edisto Island Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing