We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stop for the night.”
Review of Edgefield Inn

Edgefield Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgefield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edgefield
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for the night.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Unusually large for where it is. Staff was pleasant and the room was clean and comfortable. It was equipped with a small fridge and microwave. A modest continental breakfast is available. Wifi works best in the main lobby. A pleasant pause before heading on down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trailsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My mom and I stayed here a couple of nights while doing family research at the Tompkins Library, Edgefield Archives and Courthouse. The staff couldn't have been nicer! The room and linens were clean. There is a McDonalds next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liv2plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel is not bad and ideal for where we visited. Our room smelled a bit like cigarette smoking - a few sprays of Lysol fixed that. It was clean and neat. The breakfast is very simple/limited - danishes, mini muffins, cereals and some fruit. There's a McDonalds next door for those who prefer something more filling. Staff is courteous and pleasant. We were a bit hesitant to stay here because of the reviews, but we thought one bad night wouldn't kill us. This is our second stay and we're returning in March 2012. There's not much to do or shop for in Edgefield, but it's entertaining to stay at small southern town. The Mexican restaurant across the street is very good as the service is.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor since there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This hotel was basically a decent place. They could invest in some carpet cleaning as the carpets througout the lower hallway, stairs, and upstairs hallway are extemely stained. They don't have a pool but they have a small exercise room. Breakfast was a few danish and some horrible coffee.
The hotel has no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up a very tight staircase. All room entrances are inside.
The room itself was adequate. Decent king size bed, no complaints. The desk was extremely small and seemed out of place in the room. The room we had was a good size, not cramped.
The door has large gaps both below and on the side with the latch. Light glared into the room all night from the search-light seeming hall way lights...kept me awake most of the night.
The main oddity about this place was the guy who checked us in. He seemed very strange and even my wife noticed that he didn't look at us when we asked about dining in the area. He was a bit creepy if you ask me.
Overall, there is no other real choice in the area and we probably will not return to Edgefield or vicinity but if we did, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Nothing to view out the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrown9681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

When we pulled up t the place looked very nice, especially considering the location. However, I stood at the reception window ringing the service bell for several minutes before going outside to search for cell phone reception. When I fially got some and called, several times, no one answered. So that leaves me no choice but to give it a bad review. Like I mentioned, it did look nice.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdcooper843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgefield hotels

FL
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I loved this place it was clean staff was nice .. great location .. I will be going back to the hotel .. !!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyEyes8212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

First of all, the Inn is very nice & naturally great SC hospitality. I am native to Edgefield county & must take exception to the reviewer who said "There is nothing to do in Edgefield". If you are interested in history or genealogy, you have come to the right place!. The Edgefield genealogy society will soon become the Geneology Society for all of South Carolina. There are beautiful homes to see & historical sites such as Oakley Park built in 1835.

There are 2 nearby public golf courses, a fishing lake, and a paved walking/ jogging/ biking trail.
This summer there were outside "movies on the square". How fun is that !
Go by the Edgefield Advertiser (oldest newspaper in SC) & have your picture taken & they will put you in the paper. Eat at the local restaurants & enjoy the shops. See where & why famous Edgefield pottery was made. You can even see original pieces by Dave the slave as recently featured in Southern Living magazine.

If you come in April (usually), drive around & see peach trees in bloom - one of the prettiest sites you will ever see.

If you come in the summer, take a short drive to Johnston & visit one of the peach-packing sheds to watch the production & get some of the best peaches in the nation. Take a short drive to Monetta & be a teenager again. Go to "Big Mo" - one of the last remaining movie drive-ins in the country. www.thebigmo.com There are 2 screens with current double features (for one price) on each screen. One screen is usually "family friendly".

Go & enjoy life in a small town for a while & stay at the Edgefield Inn.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgefield
16.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
23.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
19.5 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#7 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
14.8 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in North Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
13.7 mi away
No photo provided
Deluxe Inn
#19 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgefield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgefield Inn

Property: Edgefield Inn
Address: 702 Augusta Rd, PO Box 420, Edgefield, SC 29824-1510
Location: United States > South Carolina > Edgefield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgefield Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Edgefield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing