We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLACK MOLD- should illegal to open to public”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were traveling, all other hotels were booked, and needed to sleep or we would have checked right back out. There was a sign that said the hotel was under new management. The people who bought it REALLY need to fix it or condemn it.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:
SMELL--The room had a horrible moldy smell and it didn't evaporate as time went on. PAINT--Whoever painted this hotel never painted before. Ridiculous. However, if the room smelled NORMAL and the room appeared safe (more below) it would have just been funny.

After the initial smell (which never left) hit our nostrils, we tried to hit the lights. Most didn't work. Now we're in a dark, smelly room. This was a room in which we didn't want to take our shoes off because we didn't know how dirty the floor was.

BLACK MOLD! Next morning, we wanted to escape asap, so we hurried and showered. (although we wouldn't have used the separate tub anyway, there was a nice size bug crawling around in it).

My shower time had to be a personal record, for as soon as I entered, I looked up and the ceiling was covered with black mold. Now I knew where the smell of the room was coming from. The owners tried to cover it with paint. One cannot cover dangerous black mold with paint. Our daughter moved into an new, very expensive, apartment building in TX. A few months later, the entire complex was forced to evacuate and the building torn down because of Toxic black mold. She had a heck of a time finding another apartment because people were afraid she would carry the spores with her to their apartment complex.

Of course, I couldn't test that mold to see if it were the Toxic Black Mold, but there is a problem in this hotel and the management has NOT taken care of it.


If the hotel ratings had a "below terrible" marking, I would have used it.
Stay at your own risk!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank eyeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

we had to stay here it was the only hotel with vacancy I know why, the a/c didn't work, big black ants on walls and bed, sheets stained and a funky smell.
people where hanging out on balcony maybe because its hotter in their rooms than outside I have no idea

Room Tip: choose another location
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank laxklax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duncan hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Duncan Spartanburg West
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg(Duncan)
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Spartanburg Duncan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg

Address: 1386 E Main St, Highway 290 at Exit #63 off I-85, Duncan, SC 29334-9137 (Formerly Days Inn Duncan-Greenville-Spartanburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheridan Inn GSP Airport Offer accommodations in Duncan, SC, approximately six miles from Greenville/Spartanburg International Airport .For your enjoyment and convenience, we recently upgraded our hotel . The upgrades are ongoing, but there have been more than enough to make your stay with us enjoyable, and relaxing. Contact us today to book hotel lodging for yourself, your family, or your group apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing