We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Really nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A very nice example of Baymont properties. Friendly efficient check-in, large clean room with micro wave, fridge, king bed and large flat screen. Strong WIFI and good breakfast. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    27
    20
    5
See reviews for
56
12
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

First and foremost, the staff, and I mean ALL the staff (from Anne the manager, to Amber to housekeeping...EVERYONE) should pat yourselves on the back. Such attention to detail was paid to the renovated rooms and to the individual attention paid to each guest.

I wasn't planning on staying as long as I did, but a family emergency deemed it necessary that my stay was decided last minute of each day. The staff was outstanding with making sure I didn't have to change rooms, etc.

The rooms were VERY clean. That is a huge pet peeve of mine while traveling. The sheets were freshly laundered and the beds had blankets which were washable each time and comforters which were geometric in design and light enough that you could look at them and tell they were kept clean. These were not the budget hotel things you're afraid to touch. The rooms were CLEAN. Each bed came with four pillows. The king non-smoking had a comfy fat chair with ottoman that was the equivalent to a suuuuuper comfy chaise lounger.

Decor was nice - not overdone gold leaf crap, nice and tasteful. They have done a wonderful job of renovating a property that has been around for a bit.

Continental breakfast was not simply cereal and oatmeal. If I remember correctly, the continental breakfast consisted of:

- muffins
-hot belgium waffle iron (pour your own and make your own waffles)
-biscuits and gravy
-hard boiled eggs
-toast/bread
- various cereals
- various fruits
- various hot cereals
- fresh coffee
- orange juice and apple juice

As much as I love Cracker Barrel (across the street) there really was no need to go spend $10/person when a decent breakfast was served for free. Who does this anymore?!

The property has a workout room the width of the swimming pool enclosure. There are vending machines on property as well as easy access to ice machines. My room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker (single pod/tray combo). For the ladies, blow dryers are available in the rooms.

No/low noise on either side of the hotel. The hotel is maybe 3/4 mile from a major interstate, but road noise was never an issue. The hotel itself is nestled in a couple of tree lines which act as wonderful sound dampeners.

Detail oriented: the center lamp between the two double beds has 2 switches on the base - one for each bed to control his/her own light within the single fixture. Points for detail.

Ample parking and late night food is available with a very short walk across the parking lot.
The parking lots on both sides are extremely well lit. I never felt unsafe (not even an inkling) while I was there.

I'm still trying to figure out how Anne runs such a well-oiled machine in the Baymont Inn yet only charges one of the lower rates in that area!! If this hotel charged $85-$100/night, they would be called the Four Seasons at a discount. :) I've stayed at some really nice hotels (the Setai Hotel- South Beach, The Phoenician, Scottsdale AZ, Four Seasons in Santa Barbara, Ritz Carlton, Laguna Niguel, theHotel@Mandalay, Wynn, LV) so I have a good gauge for what to look for in a room.

If you need a place to stay in a little town like Duncan because you're doing business in the area, do yourself a favor and give the Baymont Inn and Suites a shot. Don't expect 800-1000 thread count bedding like the high end boutique hotels, but then again, don't think you're gonna pay hundreds of dollars a night, either. My 7 night stay was slightly more than $400...taxes included. This was my first stay and you can damn well bet that I will return here and recommend it HIGHLY to others as well.

For the record: I do not know anyone on a person/professional level who works at this Baymont Inn or any other Baymont Inn. I just felt so strongly about the outstanding customer service I received there that i really felt compelled to share my story so others who are trying to decide read this and it puts their mind at ease.

I honestly was dealing with one of the biggest tragedies my family has experienced and Anne and staff were a huge contributing factor in me being able to do what I needed to do to help my family.

Thank you sooooo much everyone there! It was my pleasure and I look forward to the next time. I'll just have to explain why I'd rather stay with you guys than my own family. ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovicool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

i must say this is one of the best motels anywhere im a truck driver i stay in motels every night all over the eastern us and this is one of the best. anna and the staff keep the place up and clean extremely friendly everytime im in they all treat me like im family i always stay here when in town i will advise anyone to pick this motel over any of the others in the area... thanks anna and staff for all the great work!! and breakfast is awesome i never leave hungry..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01festus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was exactly as expected. Breakfast was good, waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, fruit, boiled eggs. Free newspaper. It is an old Jameson Inn and looks recently updated except the actual bathroom with tub and toilet. Not sure if someone had smoked in our non-smoking room, or if we were getting fumes from the people who were smoking outside (the room had one of those wall units that pulled air from outside to cool/heat). And only one roach in the bathroom. We were there for 4 nights for a funeral. The staff was super helpful and friendly, they worked with us to get all the family rooms grouped. It was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. I know that traveling for a family funeral can be stressful and I'm glad that we were able to help during this time.

We continually look for ways to improve so that all of our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback helps us to achieve this goal.

Please let me know if I can be of assistance in your future travels to South Carolina,

Sincerely,

Anna Challenger
General Manager Baymont Inn & Suites
Duncan, South Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Duncan Spartanburg West
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Duncan/Spartanburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg(Duncan)
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Spartanburg Duncan
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
Address: 1546 East Main Street, Duncan, SC 29334 (Formerly Jameson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off of I85 with easy access to Greenville, Spartanburg, BMW, Tyger River Park, Upward Sports Complex, GSP airport, the zoo, golf courses, and many other attractions. Our location offers a variety of restaurants and retail stores walking distance, while also offering a safe and quiet location off of the main road. All of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator, 37" Flatscreen TVs with premium channels, coffee makers, free high speed internet, and much more. We also have a business center and fitness center available for use. We offer a free deluxe continental breakfast that includes biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, hard boiled eggs, 4 types of cereals, milk, juices, grits, oatmeal, bread, danishes, muffins, fruit, and much more. Our seasonal outdoor swimming pool may also be available for use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jameson Inn Duncan
Duncan Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing