We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than what I expected”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had been led to believe that this hotel was not very nice, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly. The pillows were a bit small, the closet wasn't deep enough to hold the the folding luggage stand, and the towels were not very soft, but those are my only complaints. The waffle maker, eggs, biscuits and gravy, and cold cereal selection were the standard discount hotel fare. The 2 free drinks every Tuesday & Wednesday night were nice, as was the in-room make-up remover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InMyOpinion411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean H, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreceate your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and service level, so your comments are helpful. Thank you again. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly if you have any additional feedback that you would like to share. We appreceate you staying with us, and look forward to you hopefully being our guest again, next time your travels bring you back to the Greenville/ Spartanburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    124
    46
    14
    17
See reviews for
156
60
28
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a mother of a young child, the most important thing to me is cleanliness. Of course I realize this hotel is in a smaller town and the choices were very limited. So compared to hotels in bigger towns with more resources and choices, the hotel would suck. Considering where I was at, the hotel was okay.

I came prepared to accept it was not going to be "big town" quality so was pleasantly surprised at the more modern look of the lobby and fixtures. Even walking into my room, at first glance I was pleasantly surprised. But if you are into details like me, you won't last long. Moldy ceiling, moldy, smelly room and kitchen. Noisy old AC unit- room was very humid and sticky. I didn't let my daughter sit in the "jacuzzi" because I questioned whether it was sanitary. It just looked old and not clean enough. Even the iron was moldy. Fine for a two day stay. And probably fine for the town/area.

I'm really confused about the different types of rooms. I prepaid and booked a "king suite" and when I arrived the front desk clerk said that it wasn't available. So she gave me a "king room" but my room still had a desk, kitchen, etc. It was a little costly for the lack of quality- but you get what you get in a small town!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1pickymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. In the meantime if you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me directly. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and polite as soon as we got in they offered us water and checked us in in two minutes then after that the room was clean and convienetly located and it was comfy and clean there was free breakfeast and then they even. Told us we didn't need to check out just needed the room number and excellent stay and defiantly stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Las177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

It is very clean people are nice the breakfast is avenge if u want a waffle u will wait a bit the breakfast ends at 10 so i would go early before anything runs out the ac is loud but it isn't like u can't fall asleep with it on

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numberonebesteditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Great price, nice location, and most importantly clean.! Breakfast was free, pool was clean, and staff was polite. If u need a nice clean place to stay, this is a good choice. *note- AC is a little loud but a little loud.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a clean, comfortable, and quiet Hampton. They have made extra effort for their guests. They have a nice pool and a bar and free drinks on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. The breakfast area is a little crowded and nothing spectacular. Overall, though, I would gladly stay here while on business or traveling.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a clean hotel! I stayed there for a night in transit to somewhere else. The staff was very accomodating. The room was so spacious, modern, and clean. The bathroom was amazing, it was huge and had everything. The breakfast was good and the cookies were GREAT. I'd recommend this hotel and I'd stay here again. Spend the little extra and stay here instead of the Quality Inn down the street, you will not be disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg(Duncan)
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Spartanburg-I-26-Westgate Mall
0.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Spartanburg Duncan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Duncan/Spartanburg
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Duncan Spartanburg West
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites At WestGate Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85
Address: 108 Spartangreen Blvd, Duncan, SC 29334-9424 (Formerly Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville Duncan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville Spartanburg hotel is located in Duncan, SC just off I-85 near the Tyger River Sports Complex. Only 6 miles from the GSP International Airport our Duncan hotel offers free airport shuttle service for guests. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy our great amenities from free Wi-Fi, free hot breakfast, workout facilities and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville-Spartanburg I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville Duncan Hotel Duncan
Hampton Inn And Suites Greenville Duncan
Hampton Inn Duncan
Duncan Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing