We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Older Hotel needs updating.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Front desk clerk was pleasent and freindly. The room I had was at the far back side of the motel.. The room was very worn as for carpets and linens, wall paint and fixtures. The bedding had cigarette burns and was very worn. The sliding glass door lock did not work and you had an aluminum bar to secure the door with. There was not much activity as far as other guest it was quiet as far as people on a thursday night..... But.... the trains ran all during the night and wee hours of the am. and its also right beside I-95 and the big trucks roar all night too. Its almost impossible to sleep here. I would suggest you ask for a room on the side of the building facing town if you must stay here. I would suggest going elsewhere if you're given a room at the back side. The price was good at aprox 40 plus tax with a coupon. Thats about 20-30 dollars cheaper than the rest of the hotels on that strip. They did have free breakfast.with hot waffles.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We appreciate your business and certainly would like to have to stay with us again. We replaced the carpet in all our rooms and hallways in August. We also added micro/fridges to all rooms along with new A/C units and TV's.

Unfortunately there is not much we can do about the train and being close to I-95. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back and have a much better stay.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    14
    10
    33
See reviews for
22
13
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Large groups of sparkling wiggles in what seems to be an open air drug market in the back parking lot. Had to kill a black widow spider that was in the tub. Rooms are large & decently clean. Room did not have the microwave or fridge that was advertised. Freight train at 2am that seemed to last for 20 minutes continually blowing whistle and shook the room. Peeling wallpaper, mildewed and peeling caulk in the tub. No clock in room as well. Most ghetto hotel I have stayed in ever- but I guess you get what you pay for, it was only $35 for the night...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoogemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dillon hotels

Culpeper, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

This was a horrible place. We actually went back to the desk immediately and received a refund. The parking lot was full of some really rough looking characters--the hallway was filthy and strange noices and loud laughter, music and shouting radiated from the rooms-the whole place had a bad odor. It was obvious there was some kind of partying going on. We felt very insecure from the time we left the car and especially so when we saw that our door lock to the room was broken. The room was large but dirty. We left as fast as we could and were so relieved to be away from there We found a wonderful hotel further up 95 (the Comfort Suites in Lumberton)--it did cost more but you get what you pay for!!! We learned that lesson the hard way.....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culpepergrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delmar de
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

I chose this hotel because I found positive reviews- well let me tell you- it was bad. The whole place smelled funny- The room was a bit grimy. The beds were nice, the staff was adequate, but the pool was GREEN and had stuff floating in it. Gross

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerobicsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

I stayed here on July 13, 2008. After driving for almost 12 hours, I needed to make a stop on my trip from RI to Florida. I was very tired. However, my mistake is that I paid for the room first. The room was not that clean; the mattresses were soiled; there was no smoke alarm on the ceiling. Fortunately, I had a beach towel to place over the bed. Even the people who were staying at the hotel did not seem right. I have learned, check the room before paying, and even more-- stay at Courtyards or Hampton Inn regardless of the much higher cost.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The filth and the run down property.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gaa0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

Got in at 2am, made it past all the hoopties and beaters in the parking lot, but couldn't make it past the stench in the hallways. Would DEFINITELY NOT NOT NOT RECOMMEND if you value your safety. VERY SKETCHY... went across the street and stayed at a Hampton Inn (for three times the price) but at least we didn't think we'd be robbed. the extra eighty or so bucks was worth the peace of mind.

Random cars cruising the parking lot, broken glass in the hallways (we didn't even make it to the room- the awful smell was the last straw)... generally not fostering a feeling of clenliness/safety.

However, the lady behind the desk was very nice. So, I'll give them credit for that.

DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT believe the other ratings on this site that gives more than one star for this place. You'll be doing yourself a favor.

Actually, I'd HIGHLY recommend staying in Florence (just a half hour south on 95) it's a much bigger, brighter, city that gives one a better feeling about getting out of town with his possessions intact. Good luck!

  • Liked — Desk clerk was pretty nice
  • Disliked — EVERY SINGLE OTHER ASPECT THAT IS ABLE TO BE RATED!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnso11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellie01
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

I would never recommend this motel to anyone. This was the dirtiest motel that I have seen in my life. If this is the best in Dillon, SC I can't imagine the other motels/hotels in the area. Everything about it was dirty and although I was very tired I left and did not stay here. There was blood on the mattress, the walls were filthy and had spider webbs all over, the bathroom had dirty floor, the sheet were dirty and had burn marks all over, the carpet, inside of the microwave and refrigerator were all dirty. You get what you pay for is not a fair statement. I don't care if you pay $10 a night for a room you should at least get a clean room at any price you pay.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
Fairfield Inn Lumberton
#4 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
24.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lumberton
Comfort Inn Lumberton
#5 of 23 in Lumberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon
Address: 904 Radford Blvd, Dillon, SC 29536-5008
Location: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Americas Best Value Inn of Dillon, SC, located just south of the North Carolina border. Our Guest rooms are furnished with a microwave fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, complimentary local calls, and a wake-up service. Enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast including waffles each morning. Relax and rejuvenate in our outdoor pool. Our front desk staff is available to our guests 24 hours a day, seven days a week. We also offer a fax and copy service for the convenience of our business travelers. Whether you are visiting us for business or pleasure, our courteous and experienced Staff will make your stay with us a memorable and enjoyable experience. Enjoy the value of staying with Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Dillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Hotel Dillon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing