We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcomed Surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I had been driving for 12 hours and needed a place to stay in the Dillon Area.. I found The Columns on Tripadvisor, and thought it would be worth a try-sight unseen. Since we had been at a family wake, we wanted to do something special to lighten us up. Staying at The Columns was just what we needed. The owners of this B&B left no stone unturned to make our stay special. I am so glad that we were able to not just enjoy the luxurious room and amazing breakfast, but that we were able to support this beautifully decorated "stay-in museum."

Room Tip: Just a short drive off I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Columns B&B to get away for the weekend before school started up again. The experience we had was well worth it. The room we stayed in was huge and had terrific scenery outside the window. We had full range of the upstairs balcony where we enjoyed a nice evening wine.

The owner, Michael, was a terrific host. He is full of knowledge about the house and surrounding areas. We took a walk down to a nearby park Michael suggested and it was a safe and enjoyable walk.

The breakfast was excellent and you can tell Michael takes a joy in cooking for you. He even had our leftover fruit waiting for us after the church service. My wife and I will definitely be staying at The Columns B&B again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at The Columns on our way to the beach and had a wonderful experience. The inn is a wonderful combination of Southern history, European antiques, and modern conveniences. We stayed in the Dogwood room which had a beautiful bay window and clawfoot tub/shower in the bathroom. We also had access to the upper balcony where we enjoyed complimentary wine in the evening. The owners have lovingly restored this home and it shows - from the heart pine floors to the plaster ceiling moldings. The hosts were so gracious and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast was delicious - fresh fruit, yogurt, and eggs benedict. We will definitely visit again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrudgeRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

From the warm welcome at the front door to the amazing surroundings and warmth of Michael and Mark, not to mention the amazing breakfast and gob smacking beauty of the house and decor! Only hope we get the opportunity to return. Love Tracey Andrew & Holly, Manchester England xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having stayed in many B&Bs on all five continents, I found The Columns to be one of the finest in atmosphere, service, and furnishings. Not only does it reflect the classic European-style accommodation, but many of its impressive antiques are from Europe. Michael Real is not only the proprietor, but an excellent conversationalist (and guide to his antique collection) and instant friend. The gourmet breakfast adds to the good taste and a reluctant departure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlhilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were warmly welcomed into this beautifully restored 1903 home, a short drive east from I-95 in Dillon, SC. The owner Michael's attention to detail is evident everywhere, from the flower beds in front, plants on the porch with rocking chairs, the art and books. Everywhere!

While we freshened up wine was left in the large hall outside our room. I wish we had arrived sooner to enjoy the wine on the upstairs porch while watching the lightning. Another guest mentioned enjoying that.

After dinner a few blocks away, leftovers were placed in the refrigerator hidden in a beautiful credenza, the same one where coffee would be available in the morning. Very convenient and appreciated.

The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. There are individual air condioner thermostats in the rooms. We had the Dogwood Room. The trees are just beyond the bed and bathroom windows. The bathroom features a claw foot tub and is impecably clean and white. Staying in any if the rooms when the trees are in bloom would be an added treat to an already exquisite retreat.

Another guest and I had coffee on the upstairs balcony, enjoying the cooler morning before breakfast. Breakfast was a delight to the eye and taste buds.

It is worth the short drive from the interstate, or come by train, to stay at this beautiful B & B and enjoy the hospitality of the owners.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after the trees and azaleas outside. Book the room when that flower is in bloom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhisperDowntheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay at The Columns in Dillon where I was attending a family reunion. Michael Real was a most charming and considerate host and every detail of the house was breathtakingly beautiful. From the carefully chosen artwork, the antique furniture, the lovely flowers in the yard, the wine, the food, the special blend coffee to the artful stacks of books;everywhere you look there is something to delight the senses! The bonus for me was that the house had belonged to a distant cousin and Michael had not only restored the house but had preserved some of the family pictures in an album that I was able to look at leisurely as I sipped my wine. I was truly sorry I only had one night to spend there but I will certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dillon hotels
0.6 mi away
Heart of Dillon Motel
Heart of Dillon Motel
#2 of 7 in Dillon
2 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
86 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dillon Inn
Dillon Inn
#3 of 7 in Dillon
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn

Address: 601 E Main St, Dillon, SC 29536-3557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dillon
Price Range: $129 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing