We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sanibel Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World Class B&B”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having stayed in many B&Bs on all five continents, I found The Columns to be one of the finest in atmosphere, service, and furnishings. Not only does it reflect the classic European-style accommodation, but many of its impressive antiques are from Europe. Michael Real is not only the proprietor, but an excellent conversationalist (and guide to his antique collection) and instant friend. The gourmet breakfast adds to the good taste and a reluctant departure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlhilliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were warmly welcomed into this beautifully restored 1903 home, a short drive east from I-95 in Dillon, SC. The owner Michael's attention to detail is evident everywhere, from the flower beds in front, plants on the porch with rocking chairs, the art and books. Everywhere!

While we freshened up wine was left in the large hall outside our room. I wish we had arrived sooner to enjoy the wine on the upstairs porch while watching the lightning. Another guest mentioned enjoying that.

After dinner a few blocks away, leftovers were placed in the refrigerator hidden in a beautiful credenza, the same one where coffee would be available in the morning. Very convenient and appreciated.

The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. There are individual air condioner thermostats in the rooms. We had the Dogwood Room. The trees are just beyond the bed and bathroom windows. The bathroom features a claw foot tub and is impecably clean and white. Staying in any if the rooms when the trees are in bloom would be an added treat to an already exquisite retreat.

Another guest and I had coffee on the upstairs balcony, enjoying the cooler morning before breakfast. Breakfast was a delight to the eye and taste buds.

It is worth the short drive from the interstate, or come by train, to stay at this beautiful B & B and enjoy the hospitality of the owners.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after the trees and azaleas outside. Book the room when that flower is in bloom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhisperDowntheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville,SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay at The Columns in Dillon where I was attending a family reunion. Michael Real was a most charming and considerate host and every detail of the house was breathtakingly beautiful. From the carefully chosen artwork, the antique furniture, the lovely flowers in the yard, the wine, the food, the special blend coffee to the artful stacks of books;everywhere you look there is something to delight the senses! The bonus for me was that the house had belonged to a distant cousin and Michael had not only restored the house but had preserved some of the family pictures in an album that I was able to look at leisurely as I sipped my wine. I was truly sorry I only had one night to spend there but I will certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a very lovely b & b, founded by wonderful owners with tons of restoration and design experience. The service (including breakfast) is personalized for your needs and the accommodations are just beautiful. There are lavish antiques and plenty of reading materials throughout the house. I think it is the perfect place for a quiet weekend retreat, because there isn't a lot to do in the surrounding area. But don't worry, your host offers a bottle of wine that you can relax with on the porch or balcony and enjoy the beautiful SC weather.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

You can drive from Baltimore to Hilton Head without stopping, but why would you when The Columns stands ready for rest and renewal? When we arrived we were greeted by Innkeeper Michael Real with a glass of wine and warm tour of this amazingly beautiful Southern Inn. Our evening was quiet and restful with the distant sound of a train rolling through Dillon. Every thoughtful treatment was found in fine linens, antiques and spotlessly clean chambers. We were asked about our breakfast preferences, even what we liked in our coffee. After a comfortable nights sleep we were treated to a gourmet breakfast that should have been photographed. Fresh fruit, eggs Benedict and fresh squeezed juice made for a welcome way to begin the last leg of our trip. Michael even packed my wife a fruit salad for the road. Without a doubt, this is the finest B&B experience we have had in 30 years. When forced to travel on I95 in South Carolina treat yourself to a five minute detour to Dillon and allow Michael to spoil you with style and comfort. Michael, we'll be back. Maybe even on the way home.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesnaylorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This was a mother daughter road trip. My daughter had just graduated from college in Boston, and we were driving her car back home to Florida. My husband was the one who did the research and the booking, so we really didn't know what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised! Michael, the owner, has taken a charming old southern home and restored it with oodles of beautiful antiques. Attention was paid to every detail. Our room was large, comfortable, immaculately clean and beautifully furnished with antiques. When we arrived, weary from driving all day, Michael gave us a bottle of wine and suggested we relax on the balcony. Nice! He had coffee waiting for us in the morning, right outside our room on a silver tray atop another beautiful antique piece of furniture. Breakfast was a yogurt parfait, then quiche and fresh fruit. All quite delicious, and served in the well appointed dining room. We enjoyed talking to Michael about interior design, antiques and his renovations of old homes. It is amazing how much fun a monotonous road trip can be when you have precious bonding time with your offspring and a fabulous place like this at which to stay. Excellent!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Datzgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay and relax on our way to Florida. The inn is breathtaking, the innkeepers are warm and welcoming. Everything was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. We plan to stay next year on our way south.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southbeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillon
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
74 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Dillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Mullins
26 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pembroke
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn

Property: The Columns Bed And Breakfast Inn
Address: 601 E Main St, Dillon, SC 29536-3557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing