We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there nothing worse than terrible? This place would qualify!!”
Review of Raceway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raceway Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darlington
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This place should have been torn down years ago. There is nothing good to write. The room was filthy, stained filthy carpets, bedding was stained (I opted to sleep in my clothes on top of the bed rather than get under the sheets. The toilet didn't work properly, the shower had no pressure, there were holes in the walls .... and on top of that, they tried to charge me twice! I wouldn't wish this place on my worst enemy. Better to sleep in your car at a highway rest stop.

Room Tip: Stay away at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank upchucked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We booked a king size handicap accessible room. We got a small, non accessible small bed room under the steps. The room was filthy, the toilet was non working, holes in the wall, moldy windows and shower, dirty stained carpet, beds with stains, no hot water. I did get another hotel paid for and upgraded after explaining the ADA regulations for rooms. Dont stay here unless mold and smell doesnt bother you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmg0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is trash. We stayed here spring 2011 because it was close to Darlington speedway. We thought it was close enough that we could walk, but its not even close enough for that. There were bugs. The free breakfast was a box of dry doughnuts. They never brought extra towels. We ran out of toilet paper and after asking several times for more they never brought any. It was my "time of the month" so I had to resort to using their towels. Sorry if that is too much info, but its true. The bed and blankets smelled like smoke. The entire room smelled like mildew. The hallways smelled like vomit. There were marks of some fluid or something all over the walls. We could not get our money back and had no room in our budget to switch to another hotel at that point. There are no restaurants nearby. You have to drive in to Florence to find a nice place to eat.
PLEASE PLEASE do not stay here. Go to Florence and stay in a nice hotel. You get what you pay for. Its only 10 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WvSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

woke up to beds full of bed bugs......a nightmare of a hotel!! do not even think about staying in Darlington. go on south to Florence 15 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: gon south15 more miutes and stay in Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Dynaglide95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our stay started with a roach in our room, finished with a backed up toilet, no hot water, no air conditioner.

We booked this hotel becasue it was close to Darlington Speedway for two nights. After an awful first night we asked if we could check out early. We were told no. The management was aware of our problems and still would not give us our money back.

This hotel is an absolute dump!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Terry41045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raceway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raceway Inn

Address: 705 Washington St, Darlington, SC 29532-4750 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Darlington
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: $53 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Raceway Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn of Darlington is located just north of I-95 and Florence in beautiful South Carolina. Near Darlington Raceway for all NASCAR fans, this 2-story, interior design Inn offers 56 spacious guestrooms that feature cable TV, AM/FM clock radio, workstation desk and more. Rooms available with microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Americas Best Value Inn of Darlington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Raceway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing