We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Theatre dinner”
Review of Rivertown Bistro

Rivertown Bistro
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pre Theatre dinner”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Yet again tis Restaurant comes up trumps. We dined with a small group prior to going to the Theatre of the Republic and, as usual the, food was varied and delicious, the wait staff knowlegeable, friendly and efficient. They were also mindful that we did have reservations at the Theatre. All six (varied) entrees were deemed to be delicious by our group. Nicely prepared and well presented. Water and wine service was excellent and the menu prices offer good value for the quality of the product. Take the time to visit historic Conway and stay for dinner at the Rivertown Bistro

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    72
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Rivertown is a wonderful experience in Conway. A two-story restaurant offers a pleasant lounge area, downstairs and upstairs seating as well as open-air balcony on the second level. The food is absolutely delicious! The chef is well known for his award-winning dishes and you will agree that everything is perfect! A great place for anyone, business, family or couple. Evenings will be romantic here too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheepma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine Dining yet Affordable”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stopped in for a pre-theater dinner based on excellence of Trip Advisor reviews. Have to say, despite some apprehension of review "puffery", I was very impressed. Rivertown is located in a quaint part of Conway, perhaps their historical area. We were promptly seated at a nice table upstairs, and given a moment or two to look over the menu before our server came over to take drink orders and go over the specials of the day. I was heartened to see that they had a rather extensive beer selection, with offerings from Germany, England, Ireland, as well as US craft breweries. This was a welcome respite from the usual findings in the Myrtle Beach area. Ordered a very nice Weiss beer from Maisel, and it was wonderful. The wine menu offers selections of reds, whites, sparklings, and blends, many by the glass ($6 - $10) and by the bottle. We ordered the spring roll appetizer, which was excellent, with a very nice dijon mustard sauce on the side. The bread and olive oil provided at the table while we waited for our appetizer was excellent. Our entres were the Seafood pasta and Bacon wrapped pork. Both could not have been better. The pasta had succulent shrimp and scallops in a parmesean sauce. The scallops were perfectly prepared; the best I've had since dining in Digby, Nova Scotia (home of the largest scallop fleet) this past summer. The shrimp were just as good. My spouse raved about the bacon wrapped pork medalions. For desert my spouse had the creme brulee, which was very, very good. While the center was still slightly cool, the top was perfectly carmelized. I was disappointed in the Two chocolate whiskey pie, however. It suffered from being quite hard and dry, not what I was expecting. Luckily it had a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top to improve its taste and consistency. Despite that inconsistency, Rivertown Bistro is an oasis in the desert of restaurant offerings found in the Myrtle Beach area. We are already looking forward to our next dining experience there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
509 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Awesome food - just great!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner with three other couples after golf. The food was wonderful. Everyone tried different entrees and every one was perfectly prepared and presented. Great.

Good selection of beer and wine to fit every taste and budget. Service was friendly and very good.

Nice setting and great food. It is a cannot miss if you are anywhere near Conway.

Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rivertown Bistro is a MUST.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Knowledgable wait staff, consistantly excellent choices and meticulous preparation. The menu is fresh, local and innovative. Wine selection is on point. People drive for miles to come eat here. Thankfully I live close enough to walk!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murdock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivertown Bistro also viewed

Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rivertown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing