We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Night Out”
Review of Rivertown Bistro

Rivertown Bistro
Ranked #1 of 147 Restaurants in Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Girls Night Out”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We went there after a long day of driving. The ambiance was excellent. We had four different dishes but we shared them all. I had the Shrimp and Sausage dish, it had grits and cheese with grilled vegetables. It was tasty and the vegetables were tender. My friend had the pasta with a white wine cream sauce, with shrimp and pork tenderloin. It was delicious and the portion was large. It also had sundried tomatoes and asparagus. They had several wines that they highlighted on their wine list, how ever the waiter allowed me to taste some of them and then I purchased a glass. My niece had the Bacon wrapped pork tenderloin with a potato casserole. It was yummy but what isn't when it's wrapped in bacon. We finished with desert and the key lime pie was sublime. The crust was made with ginger snaps or so we think. We would go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pork C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    74
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson Hills, Pa.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went there for lunch with a large group and everything was great. Sat on the front balcony/porch, everything fromt he drinks to desert was great. Service and food outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

While looking for a booklight at Target in Myrtle Beach, the sales attendant made a recommendation for dinner... "excellent low country cooking in Conway, just a short way up on SC 501, the second street on the left after the new bridge" is the Rivertown Bistro.

Conway is one of the oldest towns in South Carolina; created in 1734 along the western banks of the Waccamaw River, many of the buildings still espouse the old southern town feel. On the 3rd avenue of the town of Conway, Rivertown Bistro resides. Within its bricks and mortar and somewhat eclectic environment are a group of people whose only desire is to impeccably serve you GREAT food at modest prices.

A young hostess with a Brittany Spears smile brought my husband and I to the second floor, where we were seated overlooking the kitchen and the dining patrons below. Our server Joshua was quick to come to our table to offer the evening's specials and drinks. He took our order and quickly returned with warm bread and fine olive oil and herbs and our drinks (try the ginger peach margarita... it is amazing!). After deciding on our starters (fresh mesclun and raspberry salad with pecans and a delightful lobster appetizer), we both agreed to experience what we had come for - sauteed shrimp and andouille sausage, Palmetto Farms cheese grits, tasso gravy, chargrilled vegetables - it was to the point in portion, spice, flavour - appropriately served in a deep and wide bowl. Simply prepared but delightfully tasty food, exquisite service and attention to detail and comfortable ambience. Next year, on our trip down south, we will definitely visit the Rivertown Bistro again. It may be about 25 miles from Myrtle Beach, but this is definitely worth the drive to Conway.

http://rivertownbistro.com/rivertown_bistro.php

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rswendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
360 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although we expected a river front view, the interior is decorated nicely. We went for lunch on a Saturday and they were very busy. We had great service. This restaurants has Blue Plate specials each day. Saturday's was Chicken on a Biscuit with Sausage Gravy. It was huge! Cooked perfectly, the exterior was seasoned and crunchy, the interior nice and juicy. I tired the Grilled Chicken on a pretzel bun, so good! Their lunch portions are generous and we both took half of our lunch home. They make their own yam chips and they were delicious! We will be back to try their varied dinner menu with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sat in the bar last night and had a fabulous experience. The girl bartender was friendly and always attentive. She went out of her way to make sure we were well taken care of. The food was delicious. Perfect wine and perfect drinks to make it a perfect night! Highly recommend sitting at the bar for a girls night or if you want to just have a drink by yourself. Always make you feel like you are at home!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boo1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivertown Bistro also viewed

Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rivertown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing