We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Hampton Roads
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced and disappointing”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This the time we stayed at a Best Western affiliated with Harley-Davidson Harley Owners Group. What a disappointment.

Pro
- Yes, the price was about $5.00 cheaper than other discounts
- the rooms were clean
- family run owners were friendly and tried to be helpful

Con
- the facility is in decline: furnishings are dated and showing signs of wear and repairs appear to be deferred or accomplished in an amateurish way. The lobby area was not inviting.
- - the toilet did not flush properly
-- the shower was slow to drain
-- the TV remote didn't work properly even after changing batteries
-- the breakfast area in the lobby had only two tables and chairs
-- the boiled eggs were so over cooked this tasted like rubber
-- both lobby water fountains were blocked by a table, apparently because they don't work
- the in-room coffee was terrible. It tasted like cheap coffee grounds mixed with sawdust
- no special consideration for motorcyclist: no wash area or rags, no special parking
- only one chair in the room, a worn office chair.
- the motel is on an unlit dead end street
- nothing in walking distance of the motel. No food, no gas, no stores, no other anything
- the lodging rate is 30% over a reasonable rate.

I will never stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    30
    17
    15
See reviews for
52
22
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC/ Clinton, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We had no problems when we visited and booked this hotel. Management worked with us because we had an extremely early flight into Myrtle Beach (7am) and they allowed us to check in early and get set up. Staff was friendly on all shifts that we checked in with them. The room was clean, we booked a room with Jacuzzi tub and it was worth the bucks after walking around the beach and going to the Mall and Tanger Outlet. Was clean, the AC worked extremely well, and had a microwave and coffee maker in our room. No problems and had no drunks or any other people around making a mess or noise. Nicely tucked away off of 544. keep your eyes out or you could miss it the first time when driving. Breakfast bar was good food, nothing fancy, but did have a waffle maker. No complaints and was exactly what I needed for this trip.

Room Tip: Get a Jacuzzi it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vze4n4n8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway. It is very convenient to Tanger Outlet and Hwy.544 which is a short cut over to Myrtle Beach. It is also Very close to the campus of Coastal Carolina University. We have used this hotel 4-5 times and have no complaints. They also offer a small continental breakfast.

Room Tip: We have stayed upstairs and downstairs and have no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynelauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

After being on the road all day we wanted a comfortable, clean safe room for around $100. We pulled into the first place we came across, and they had exactly what we needed. The staff was friendly and quick. The room was clean, had a fridge, and was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We made online reservations and after a 6 1/2 hour trip from Virginia drove up to the hotel around midnight. There were people hanging out on the walkways that were clearly drunk (they were not together so it wasn't like it was just one large rowdy group), the whole parking lot smelled like sour beer, and it smelled like someone had peed on our door. It looked like we were in a ghetto - it wasn't a comfortable environment to have my young daughters in, and since we were only staying overnight I hated leaving our stuff locked in the car. I was afraid it wouldn't still be there in the morning

The room itself was a nice size, and thankfully the bathroom was clean. The kitchenette was absolutely filthy - bowls were shoved in the cabinets that had dried, caked food and the utensils were the same way. The pull out sleeper sofa was also filthy - in fact too filthy to use. We opened it up and old food and crumbs went everywhere.

If I'm unlucky enough to ever have to be in Conway again (we were there for a baseball tournament) I would never stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it to ANYONE.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank threepeatpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed one night and were very pleased. Very clean, huge room with kitchenette, free breakfast, for only $65!!! Great location and great service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaldmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had booked 2 rooms for one night for my company, and received my confirmation number.
Then, I received a call, indicating that they had a 2 night minimum stay.
What BAD customer service.
I would recommend you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtastici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at the University
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Conway
91 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
#89 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
16 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
104 reviews
12.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area

Property: Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area
Address: 1004 Waccamaw Dr, Conway, SC 29526-8519 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Guest Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Conway/ Myrtle Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conway Best Western
Best Western Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing