We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap hotel”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was in town for a Wedding, booked the room 2 days prior as I didn't want to have to drive back and forth from Conway for the rehearsal and wedding. Check in was a breeze, the clerk was very friendly, gave me extremely specific directions to the Peanut Warehouse where the wedding was to be held. I'd have been hopelessly lost without his directions, the GPS in my phone couldn't find it. Had a single room with a double bed, size was decent, had a table and a couple chairs, microwave and cold fridge, and a nice flatscreen TV with a good selection of channels. I was in a smoking room, but I'm a smoker so not a big deal. The bed was very comfortable, shower had hot water. Plenty of parking on site. Checked out 30 minutes late, wasn't an issue, the lady at the desk was very friendly and was genuinely happy I enjoyed my stay.

Room was very clean, could have used more electrical outlets though, I had to unplug the bed light to plug in my phone.

Location can't be beat, minus trying to turn out onto 501. 3 minutes from downtown Conway and the river, plenty of places to eat nearby.

I'd be more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelman_53, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments.It was our pleasure to have you here at our motel. I hope the wedding that you were here for went well. It's guest like you that make my job enjoyable.
Please feel free to stop by if you are ever in our area. I would like to Thank you for your stay personaly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 69 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

i stayed two nights in september, 2012 in a king room with couch, two chairs, mini fridge and tv. it was very quiet, everything worked well and it was clean. the beed was comfortable, the bath sparkling and the shower water hot. there was plenty of parking and although I did not use the pool, it appeared well maintained and the water was clear. the staff was accommodating and friendly. i will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a last minute, leave for vacation one day early without reservations kinda stay. The desk clerk was very friendly and the price wasn't bad compared to so many others in the area. The room was again not too bad for a last minute option, however did have a "different" smell to it but did appear to be he cleanest the staff could make it with what they were working with.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarter7490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we arrived, I was worried based of the outward appearance of the hotel! We stayed two nights at this hotel.....(two nights because you were not able to cancel without being charged.)..it is an older hotel that has had updates....I was very concerned re bed bugs, etc, but checked the beds carefully. I did not find any problems...we had our own pillows, etc/blankets were old and stained.....I used lysol all over the room and for the most part the room was basically clean....except around the top of the tub in the shower...needs a very good cleaning!...We were on the first floor and heard minimal noise during our stay.The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired.....The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful...the location is in the center of town and convenient to everything...grocery stores, shopping...not far from riverfront....riverfront has some nice restaurants and a few nice shops. ?would I stay again, probably not...just because I like a more upscale hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbeulah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelman_53, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be passed on to our staff. We will certainly check out the heat situation. Hopefully you can come back and check out our Air Conditioning while enjoying a trip to the beach or shopping this summer. Would make a nice getaway.Thanks again for your stay and your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

BED BUGS..enough said..they did not offer a refund upon check-in, as motel was less than satisfactory. However after inspecting the room, it was okay until I lifted the sheets up. Trust me, it leaves you feeling uneasy about other places, but unless you plan to sleep in your car, you might want to research better places.

Room Tip: Check your beds, you might see bed bugs. Google how to inspect a bed if you are unsure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We visited this motel last month and were surprisingly pleased. The room was clean with nice comfortable beds. The staff was very accommodating. The pool was spotless and not overly chlorinated like many motel pools. The continental breakfast was very limited but they probably want you to use their restaurant. If you are looking for spacious rooms, this would probably not be to your liking but for the basic night's lodging, this fits the bill. I would definitely stay there again as the price is very reasonable

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

For example - worst motel breakfast ever. (Can you say cheap?) No cereal, no muffins, no milk, no bananas - only unwrapped bagels, stale cream cheese packets, unwrapped mini cinnamon rolls, warm orange juice (no ice), and anemic oranges and apples. I asked about cereal, so did the guy who walked in right after me - get a clue management! (Two identical inquiries a row means something.)

Also, the exterior stairway outside my room was quite dirty - another easy fix. You got a hose - might as well use it.

The bed was not comfortable, either. I have not seen a more economical mattress choice by management in any lodging establishment (except for a hostel I stayed in in Budapest, Hungary once).

What really amazes me is how bad the other properties in Conway must be, based on the fact that this is rated 2nd of 9 lodging choices in that community.

You might ask why I stayed at this motel? Everything else in the Myrtle Beach area that would have been a better choice for under $200 per night was already booked, at least this was only $80 per...

Finally, why did I give this a 2 rating rather than a 1? One reason only - the night clerk is as good as I have ever encountered in a hotel or motel. This guy - I think his name is Mark - should be at the Marriott or at Anderson Ocean Club down the road in Myrtle. Thank you, guy, for being a beacon of redemption in the middle of an otherwise quite bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conway
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Conway
98 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at the University
7.8 mi away
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
#86 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
85 reviews
13.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
11 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Myrtle Beach, SC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1101 Church Street Hwy 501, Conway, SC 29526-4128
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Price Range: $56 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge, a Myrtle Beach Hotel, is located in the heart of historic Conway, South Carolina just minutes from Coastal Carolina University, sunny Myrtle Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Come enjoy our newly renovated rooms and convenient location for shopping, dining, entertainment and all that historic Conway has to offer. Enjoy home cooked meals in our restaurant and a free continental breakfast for registered guests each morning in the motel office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing