We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem with a varied inexpensive menu.”
Review of FATZ

FATZ
Ranked #33 of 147 Restaurants in Conway
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Conway, SC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with a varied inexpensive menu.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My sister and I went for a quick light lunch. We opted to share the Calabash chicken dinner that came with a huge side salad. The wait staff did bring without asking an extra plate for sharing. The chicken was delicious and served hot and was very moist and melted in your mouth. My sister ordered a Bloody Mary which when presented on the bill was charged a couple of $$ more than was listed on the menu. So watch out for that. Otherwise a good experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina Low Country
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than your average chain restaurant.”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Fatz has continued to be one of my favorites since it first made home in Conway. The booths are comfortable, the food is delicious, and the service is good. Once in a blue moon we'll get a young waiter or waitress who is inexperienced, yet friendly and willing to please. The poppy seed rolls and fried fish are must-haves. Our only complaints have only ever been the fault of near by patrons and their unruly children--obviously not something Fatz has control over. The atmosphere is nice with photos of the people and places of Conway past.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank japage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, SC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Welcome Changes at Fatz Cafe in Conway”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We recently re-visited Fatz Cafe in Conway, which has a new general manager, and I must say that it is a far better dinning experince than the last time we were there. We were promptly seated and waited upon, and our drinks arrived shortly there after. Since we were just there for lunch, I had the Calabash Chicken Wrap and the wife had the Fish sandwich. My wrap came out hot, and on a hot plate, as did the fish sandwich. Both items were of excellent quality and the service was first rate.
I have, since our last visit to this location, gotten to meet and know the new general manager, Jimmy, and he has seemingly done a wonderful job at creating a better atmosphere for both guests and staff. All the other tables that I observed, were also being taken care of in a promot and professional manner, so that says a lot about his leadership, in my opinion.

At this point I would highly recommend this restautant. For the money, it's a good value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conwayangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to eat at a good price”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Went with family. Had Steve as waiter. He was great. Good food. Good time was had by all.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, SC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Worst Place, Woudn't go again if you paid!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This place is a complete and total waste of time and money. Food is the same old fried and microwaved crap you can expect from third world chain restaurants, like this one. The staff is inept and the managment wouldn't have a clue if you sold them one. Even the drinks we awful.

We will never return to the dive of a restaurant, an I strongly reccommend that you don't either. There are lots of other places to spend you time and money. Go up the street to Kingston Grill and Bar if you want good food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conwayangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FATZRestaurants, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
We pride ourselves in providing you with a great meal, and we're terribly sorry that we let you down. We take your feedback very seriously and will share your experience with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing