We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Still love this hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Because of proximity to family, I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the years. Long story short, for the first time ever they really, really messed up my reservation. I was very vocally unhappy. Somehow, they made everything right. Bottom line they made a mistake, fixed everything, and somehow took me from an irate customer to someone who is still their biggest fan. Mistakes happen. What was impressive was how they made everything right while being cheerful, responsive, and timely.

Truthfully, this place could possibly need a bit of updating. However, at this point, I've stayed at every "nice" hotel in Columbia and you aren't going to fare any better. The rooms here are large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The staff is amazing.

The breakfast here is fabulous. Lana fixes an amazing breakfast that will leave you completely content. A nearby hotel with more stars and higher prices has a breakfast that is half as good, the rooms cost twice as much and aren't as nice.

Bottom line, this is a great place. Staff is friendly and makes you feel like a welcome friend. The hotel isn't really luxury, but the so called luxury hotels in Columbia, SC are not exactly luxury either. This is a great place for business travellers because it has everything you need. It's also a great place for families. Highly reccomend, you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    13
    15
    20
See reviews for
35
9
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Stayed at this hotel and moved our student into USC. What a great place to stay!! We had more than enough space for three, comfortable beds, great maid service, and a wonderful hot breakfast each morning!!

The property was very well kept and all the staff members (front desk, breakfast set up, maid/maintenance) were friendly and helpful.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a nice family stay . . . and the local zoo/gardens were a few minutes away !!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at this Residence Inn for one night en route to Charlotte.
It is the older style Inn with two story apartlment building style rooms.

Cons: Our room was a two story suite with a living/ bedroom/bathroom/kitchen downstairs and bedroom/bath upstairs. There was a murphy bed which my kids loved downstairs, but the stairs themselves presented a danger to our two year old. Also the room upstairs had just a half wall behind the bed with a straight drop down to the downstairs. This was really dangerous as our toddler kept trying to climb up onto the bed to look down over the wall.
-This hotel allows dogs, and the whole dark blue carpet was covered with white dog hair. I don't think it was even vaccumed after the last guests.

Pro: This was a big one to us. The staff was EXTEMELY friendly and welcoming. This goes a long way with us and would cause us to give this hotel another try with a one story room.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hfadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

This hotel surpirsed me. it looks more like apartments....very spacious and full size kitchen! very well keept and no complaints. i would stay here again. i have known rooms like this to be like 170 bucks a night ( i paid 100). i didn't know anything about this place before i checked in, so i was completly blown away!. i love this place......

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2006

The rooms are very nice & large and are very well kept. Be sure to get an upper floor though. If you get a ground floor room, and you have some heavy healed stompers or children above you, you will think that the ceiling and walls are going to cave in.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NASCARFLASH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2004

April 2004Close to zoo but I would skip the zoo very average. Infact we didn't find that Columbia had much to offer as a City but if you are looking for a nice place to stay this is worth the price. $113 including tax. Front desk very friendly let us check in at 1100 am. Coin laundry on site. Complementary beer/wine and snacks in the evening and a hot breakfast in the morning made this a really good value. Room BIG bed comfortable. Shower very nice. Pool, spa and even a basketball court. Grocery store about 1 mile down the street.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn West Columbia
Quality Inn West Columbia
#6 of 11 in West Columbia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Home Towne Suites - Columbia
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 150 Stoneridge Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-8239 (Formerly Affordable Suites of America Columbia SC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Suites Of America Columbia Sc Hotel Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
Columbia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing