We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding Customer Service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Recently stayed for my daughters graduation at USC and had a pleasant experience. I was a little concerned after reading some of the older reviews. However, my concern was unnecessary. The room was clean, the breakfast was sufficient. The staff (Krystal and Ashley) was excellent and seemed to enjoy their job!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Jack C.

Thank you so much for your recent stay, and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. As the new General Manager, I appreciate hearing feedback regarding our hotel, and I am glad that Krystal and Ashley took care of you.

Thank you again for staying with us, and congratulations on your daughters graduation from USC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    13
    15
    20
See reviews for
35
9
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

The experience coming to columbia for the first time was amazing. Where im from ppl are so pushy but the experience here shown from the guest service rep (BILLY) made our first visit to Columbia SC unforgettable. The room's was fresh and clean the breakfast attendee was awesome. Thanks for the experience we will be back when we're in the south carolina area

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesofmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear ladiesofmiami -

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We greatly appreciate the fact you chose to stay with us on your recent visit to Columbia.

We really hope to see you on your next trip to Columbia. And if you did not have the chance to do so on your last trip, we hope that you have the opportunity to visit Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens, which is just across the street. It's a great way to spend a day in Columbia.

Again, thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed the weekend of May 2 for my sister's graduation from Virginia College, and we had a blast. My two boys and I were IN LOVE with our King suite! The room was extra clean, spacious, and welcoming. We loved the whole family feel of the property as well as the beautiful landscape. Breakfast was delicious and everyone from the breakfast attendant to the front desk receptionists were all so friendly. I have found my new vacation spot when I visit Columbia, SC again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Ariel G.

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you chose to stay with us, and we are thankful that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.com.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Columbia.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I recently stayed in the hotel for attending my sons graduation from BCT at Fort Jackson. The staff was so nice to every question I had. Any problem that I had Billy made sure he took care of it. Thank you guys for making my stay even more special.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Calathia -

Thank you so much for your recent stay at our hotel, and congratulations on your son's graduation from Fort Jackson. We appreciate your stay, and are thankful that you took the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you on your next visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was very unsatisfied with this hotel and the room. I went to the front desk with intentions of checking out early. Upon explaining the situation the front desk clerk (Billy) really showed concern to my issue made sure to accommodate me and my husband to another room on a bttm floor where it was more convenient for both him and I. Long story short (billy) changed my mind about this hotel and the accommodation to the other rm was so much better. Thank you affordable suite for turning my negative into a positive. Great job again to Billy for the exceptional customer service. Definitely
Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjefferson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear fjefferson82 -

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I apologize for any issues you had during your stay, but I am pleased that Billy was able to take care of you.

Again, thank you for your stay, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had some difficulty getting a reservation for the weekend of our visit to Columbia and ended up at The Affordable Suites. I read previous reviews and was not anticipating a five star experience. The hotel is apparently designed for extended stays and perhaps works well for that purpose. However, even though it was not very expensive I did not think it a very good value. We rented a two bedroom two bath unit and I was surprised to find we had to walk a good distance and up a flight of steps to get to it. There is no elevator and this can be a real problem for a person with mobility issues. We had not thought to ask but certainly had no indication of this. The room was very dated with terrible dark carpeting and unattractive furniture. It was very dark. Towels and soaps were skimpy and thin. It was relatively clean but they do not offer cleaning or make beds on a daily basis. I called about having the sheets changed and the maid came and dropped off a large bag of sheets which were left in the living area the remaining two days of our stay. I had specifically asked if the unit was two bedrooms and was not told the second bedroom was actually an open loft. Certainly not private or separated by a door. Additionally, I was irritated by the charge being applied immediately upon check in instead of when we checked out. Then when I asked to have it credited so that we could split the cost with another person the desk clerk didn't know how to do that. Also, I did not go to breakfast but my husband indicated it was basically cereal, oatmeal and grits. Overall, I would definitely not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Sharon M. -

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that your stay was not up to expectations.

We are in the final stages of completing an upgrade, and it is very possible your room was not one of the newly updated ones.

While it is true that we do not service rooms every day, I am very discouraged about the sheet issued you described. That is not how we handle requests, and I am disappointed that this happened.

I would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you, as I would like to investigate the issues you discussed, along with see if I can do anything else for you. Please reach out to me at adam@affordablesuites.com at your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbia hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

One of the best places we have stayed! Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Quiet and clean premises.Free breakfast was great.Rooms are like apartments. We felt at home. Family friendly.Will come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttjcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam M, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
TTJCR -

Thank you for your recent stay. We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us.

We greatly appreciate the kind words about our property. As the new General Manager, I take pride in taking care of our guests, and I am pleased that you were satisfied with your stay.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
2.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 94 in Columbia
610 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
#7 of 11 in West Columbia
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Address: 150 Stoneridge Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-8239 (Formerly Affordable Suites of America Columbia SC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Suites Of America Columbia Sc Hotel Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
Columbia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing