We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Went from not too bad to disastrous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Columbia
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Went from not too bad to disastrous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel about 1 year ago. At the time it was clean and quiet.
Now it was clean and "reality TV" in front of my door.
The room smelled musty, the bathroom was dirty. When I brought it up with the staff, I was told that "not all renovations are done yet". Dear Inn Owner, do not waste your money.
Unfortunately we were eyewitnesses to a robbery with an escape car parked in front of our room. I did not feel safe and could have possibly been in "the line of fire". DO NOT STAY THERE

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    14
    21
    48
See reviews for
32
26
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I had a room in my sister-in-laws name on 4/3/12; when she tried to check in for me to get the room the girl at the front desk tells her there is no rooms available till after 4pm. We road around the hotel parking lot and saw 3 different rooms open. When my sister-in-law went back to the front and told the girl that rooms were open she then told her those were for reservation only. So she told her she has a reservation she looked sucked her teeth and told her no she didnt. So if u ever in Columbia bypass this on 0085/ Columbia West Red Roof off I26.

Room Tip: I looked at both buildings adn the second building downstairs looked the cleanest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakendram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I reserved a room online for 1-26-12. It looked ok online. When I arrived, guest were asking for towels for their room. I assumed they were there for a while, and just ran out of towels. When I arrived in my room I looked around. The desk chair was filthy, the smoke alarm was sitting on the desk, and the wires were hanging out of the wall. I bathroom was filthy, and I wouldn't bathe my dog in the bathtub. No towels, or toilet paper. I went to the front desk and received a refund ASAP! Definitely a place to rent by the hour!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
I apologize for your experience at our inn. It is our intention that every guest leave with the feeling that we have not only met but exceeded their expectations. From your comments I can see that we did not achieve this during your stay and along with refunding you for your stay I have spoken to my team about the areas where have opportunity to exceed our guests expectation and how we can achieve that goal by providing a clean room for a great price with all of our guests needs being met. I hope you will allow for us to have a chance to exceed your expectations the next time you are looking for a place to stay in Columbia.

Matt Schwenker | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stay overnight on my trip to the zoo. The hotel is right off the exit next to many eatery. My check in was fast even though I booked at the other redroof and end up here by accident and was too sleepy to drive to the other one. Room was clean, and on second floor, not noisy. We felt safe and comfortable. Checkout was easy and fast. Overall a nice stay for under 60 dollars

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

They must have upgraded the hotel since the earlier reviews were written. Decor is a bit retro, but everything worked, was clean, and so forth. Free fast wi-fi and a good desk and chair were provided, much more comfortable than many other higher-rated hotels. Very good value for the price and also very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011. We reserved the rooms online and were devestated when we arrived. Most of the motel was rented out to mexican workers. It was so bad, that men were "cat calling" at us when we were unloading our car. The front desk area is on lock down after 9 pm complete with an armed security guard and bullet proof glass window. I had to get change to get a soda and the attendant gave me money through a steel siding door. No coffee makers in the rooms. Beds were horrible and had coils sticking out the sides.

We had traveled over 7 hours to get here and it was late, we felt we had no choice as we had children and needed to get them to bed. Please don't stay here, it is unsafe and that is not my opionion, that is how the hotel owners also feel if there is an armed security guard and bullet proof glass on the premises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
I apologize for the experience you had at our Inn in July. We strive to offer a nice place at a nice price and we work very hard to ensure all of our guests have a positive experience while staying at our inn. We do have process and procedures in place to ensure the comfort and safety of our guests and we hope to present them as a comfort and not a distraction to your experience. We take all feedback very seriously and I will make sure we are inspecting each bed and room to ensure the best experience for our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to see that.

Matt Schwenker | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I thought that I would give Red Roof another opportunity to prove themselves, but this room is disgustingly run down and dirty. I travel with my dog and I hoped to have a better experience than I did at a Red Roof in VA a few months back, but this hotel was equally ad bad. From the smell to the mold to the peeling wallpaper and torn carpet, the entire experience was horrible. I needed a quick overnight stay just to sleep for a few hours before getting back on the road, but I was afraid to take a shower in the dirty bathroom. The only bright spot was the friendly receptionist, Jason. But I recommend that you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#20 of 96 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
3.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
10.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC
Address: 10 Berryhill Road, Columbia, SC 29210
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing