We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy- lots of other choices in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC
Ranked #51 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
New York, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Filthy- lots of other choices in the area”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I thought that I would give Red Roof another opportunity to prove themselves, but this room is disgustingly run down and dirty. I travel with my dog and I hoped to have a better experience than I did at a Red Roof in VA a few months back, but this hotel was equally ad bad. From the smell to the mold to the peeling wallpaper and torn carpet, the entire experience was horrible. I needed a quick overnight stay just to sleep for a few hours before getting back on the road, but I was afraid to take a shower in the dirty bathroom. The only bright spot was the friendly receptionist, Jason. But I recommend that you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    20
    28
    59
See reviews for
50
36
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The room was clean and quiet. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smthchlt29936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The hotel was by the interstate in the middle of Columbia. There is free coffee and a newspaper in the morning. The rooms were old-looking but were clean enough. If you face away from the interstate it is quiet enough to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoxixis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Checked in and found the tv on in the room, condoms on the nightstand, ice still in the ice bucket, shower used, towels used and the room just generally dirty beyond all that. We went back to the desk and were given another room and apologies. The second room was more disgusting than the first. The lights didn't work, it was smoking (we reserved a non-smoking), chairs were old, stained and mismatched. There was a terrible dark brown large splatter stain on the wall. Don't know what it was. The room was filthy in general. We called to complain and were told it was the last room available. So we left. We were staying on a "free night certificate" from their rewards program and I did demand and receive that back. As we left, we noticed a police woman walking around and a very interesting clientel arriving.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Columbia hotels

Long Island City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

bad management,moldy rooms,dirty rooms, When i came to check into the hotel there was no one at the desk but then i found out that person guy that was out side smoking was the one i was standing in side waiting on.As he came in he had on bed room slippers his shirt was unbutton and you could see his chest hair which to me was very perfessional .As he started to check me in he decided to sit on a stool instead of standing up..When i finally got to my room it was condoms in the trash can and my bed looked like it was slept in,i called the front desk and the manager was as rude just as the person before.I would'nt recommend this hotel to any body not even a blind person.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnwilliams38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

most disgusting place i have EVER seen. stopped cause we just couldnt drive anymore. look for red roofs because they are pet friendly an i have 2 bichons. first room...SMELLED moldy. evidence of water damage. even the lampshade. 2nd room we tried. bed wasnt even made up. 3rd room had disgustingly stained chairs and dirty table. 4th room, we just sucked it up. need sleep. I pray we dont wind up with bedbugs. even afraid to walk on carpet in barefeet to bathroom. even washed the dogs paws with clorox wipes after we left. ABSOLUTELY GROSS

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharr717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aowens87, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Mr. Pharr
Please accept my sincerest apologies that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. I can assure you that we are taking corrective measures to improve the overall condition of the hotel. At Red Roof Inn, we offer the Hassle Free Guarantee… “that if we cannot resolve your concern prior to your departure, we don’t expect you to pay for that night”…which we gladly did in your case. We appreciate you bringing the issues you experienced to our attention so that we can work on them. I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.
Very truly yours,
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Filthy, stinks, overall incredibly bad!!! Clerk was very friendly and courtious, and was not to blame

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_N_Trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
10.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Columbia East - Ft Jackson
3.7 mi away
Home Towne Suites - Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 94 in Columbia
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC

Property: Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC
Address: 10 Berryhill Road, Columbia, SC 29210-6431
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbia West, SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing