We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is the second time we stayed in a courtyard by Marriott and it was very nice again. I liked the swimming pool and the fitness room a lot. After a workout I could relax in the whirlpool. The staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Welcome Back!! And Thank you for your kind review and our team is happy to hear that you had a great stay in Columbia and that you loved our fitness facility! We appreciate your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for your business! Holly Penny General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 351 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location, in downtown. Near The Vista ,Five Points and The Capitol. The rooms are always clean, ther service is always top notch. Nice lobby bar. This place is great for families, couples or singles. You won't wrong with this choice

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcisneros0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello mc0008,

Thank you so much for the outstanding review of our Courtyard Downtown at USC. We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and found our staff to be top notch! I am also happy to hear you loved our locatoin being downtown at USC near the Vista, Five Points and the Capitol. I am also glad to hear you like our lobby bar. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time you’re in Columbia, SC!

Happy Travels,

Holly Penny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the second time I have tried writing a review about the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbia. I did the first a week ago but for some reason my review has been taken down so I shall try again so that you can decide whether to stay there or not. I have had longer to consider the place too, and am far less complimentary than in my original piece so I hope you find it a more valuable contribution.

The background to my stay is that an old school friend of mine and I are sharing one of those birthdays that are part celebratory and part intimations of mortality. Either way, it ends in a '0' and we decided that we needed a pre birthday present to ourselves, so we signed up for a trip to the Masters golf tournament at Augusta and our package had us staying in Columbia at the Courtyard.

First the good things about it: it is very conveniently placed for downturn, especially the Gervais Street corridor where the majority of bars and restaurants are to be found. The hotel is welcoming and spotlessly clean, if a tad soulless. I would not dream of bringing my wife here as it is far too utilitarian for her tastes but for two blokes sharing a double room it is more than adequate and far from expensive. One bar of complimentary soap for five days seemed mean but at least we had brought our own.

Our comfortable and spacious room faced Assembly Street, which can be very noisy, with the nearby railway station vying with the main road for which can generate most traffic. Amtrak horns can be particularly annoying during the early hours of the morning.

However, the biggest ground for complaint is the bar. I have never fathomed why so many people who do not enjoy other people's company decide that bar work is their vocation, but the barman at the Courtyard is most certainly one of those. Unsmiling and barely co-operative his presence behind the bar made me look elsewhere to enjoy a drink. Whilst everyone from the chambermaids to Keith, the wonderful hotel shuttle bus driver, could not have been more helpful and friendly this fellow cast a cold chill across the premises.

The bar also closes early with no drinks served after 11.00 pm. Beer is available from a self service cold unit near reception but being unable to get a glass of wine or a glass of spirits in a hotel of this standard is downright daft. The minibar in our room was also empty. Even more incredible that a business such as Marriott can ignore lots of thirsty golf tourists all more than happy to pay whatever it takes to get a drink in the hotel where they are staying.

So, if you need a clean, convenient, affordable base in Columbia then the Courtyard is the place for you. But I would not recommend you stay here for any more than a short break and head for Gervais Street if you want a drink as the staff in all the establishments I visited during my five day stay run rungs around the surly barman in this hotel. He does the rest of the staff no favours at all.

Room Tip: Unless you want to be deafened by Amtrak hooters and traffic noise make sure that you do not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for providing such valuable feedback during your recent trip for the Master’s Golf Tournament I appreciate your wonderful feedback regarding our staff but apologize that we were unable to provide you with the outstanding service we are known for. I am also sorry that the nearby train noise was very disrupting during your stay. I will ensure you that we learn from your feedback and will use it to coach and train so that ALL associates, including our bartending staff, are providing the outstanding service that we are to provide 24/7, 365. Please contact me personally if you return to the area. I would love to handle your accommodations and ensure you get a very quiet room and great service from ALL of our staff. Thank you again for the valuable feedback.

Sincerely,
Holly Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed one night while touring the USC campus. Very friendly front desk staff. They provided helpful information about the city and more importantly about the campus. The room had 2 double beds and was clean. Very nice lobby and restaurant area, but I felt the breakfast was too expensive for the area. We ate elsewhere. My only issue was with the VERY tight parking spaces in the covered parking. There is additional outdoor parking. Certainly worth the stay.

Room Tip: I faced the new USC exercise facility on a top floor. Would ask for that view again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for staying at the our Courtyard. We love taking care of guests and look for ways to exceed their expectations. Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback regarding our friendly front desk staff and clean accommodations. I will share your comments with our team. As you mentioned, our complimentary parking can be tight in the garage when traveling in a larger vehicle, but we do have the open air parking on the main (top) level. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you visit us again during your next trip to Columbia, SC.

Kindest Regards,

Holly Penny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one of my favorite Courtyards that I stay at. It is very convenient to downtown and many restaurants. Parking is tight though. No Bistro at this location which makes it even better! Good breakfast with nice wait staff. Comfortable rooms though it is better not to have a room on Assembly St, as it can get noisy. Overall very nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review! It is great to here such great comments, especially from one of our regulars. We are in a very convenient location as we are in surrounded by USC and close to the Main Street attractions and The Vista. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the outstanding service you received by our waitstaff! I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Holly Penny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Friendly, outstanding service beginning when you walk in the door. Updated modern lobby with well kept breakfast area. Guest room was quiet, very clean and comfortable, but showing its age and needs to be updated. Overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic review and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to striving to exceed your expectations and we are happy to hear our efforts have been well received. We are delighted to have had the pleasure of accommodating you. If business or leisure brings you to Columbia, SC, we look forward to warmly welcoming you back! Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,

Holly Penny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Front desk personnel, Erica, on Feb 16, 2014 answered the call to assist our family. Erica's professionalism and responsible decorum put our family's mind at ease. Thank you Erica for agreeing to assist. We look forward to hearing from you and trust that Holly Penny will be available Monday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly P, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hello Ms. Julia T,

It was a pleasure speaking with you this afternoon. I am very pleased to hear that Erica was able to provide you with such professionalism and was also able to put you and your family at ease during such a difficult time. Erica is a true asset to our team and I look forward to sharing your comments and feedback with our entire team. Thank you again and as always, it is our pleasure to serve you!

Kindest Regards,

Holly Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#22 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $104 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing