We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #18 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed while in town for a couple of days. The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. The rooms are very clean- housekeeping was very thorough. The staff at the bar were also very nice. It's a great location- within walking distance to the downtown area. The only thing is that it's an uphill walk to get to the downtown area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisier due to current construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our staff provided you with the type of service that one should expect from a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times, the staff is excellent and the property is clean. However, Assembly Street is being ripped out and repaved at night. If you are on that side of the hotel, the noise level is extraordinary.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from Assembly Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback GOarmywife! You will be happy to know that the Assembly Street construction is now complete! Our staff is extremely happy as well about this. We can't wait to welcome you back again so you can see the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was staying here for a business trip. The lobby and bar area were very nice. The rooms were ok, I've seen better at Marriotts. The parking wasn't great, the covered portion of the parking lot is very tiny and hard to get around. I didn't feel so comfortable parking on the second floor of the parking garage at night by myself so ended up on the on the upper deck outside. The noise is a huge problem at this hotel. They are doing construction 24 hours a day, which makes for a very loud night when people are trying to sleep. Had I known the construction was going to continue into the night hours I would have requested a room on the backside of the hotel since I had to be up at 5am. The air conditioner is also very loud and disturbing going on an off throughout the night. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Greetings SMA2003! Thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the road construction made for an unpleasant experience for you. Luckily the road work is done so guests are able to sleep easy at night now. In regards to parking; during your next visit, please feel free to park in the open air parking lot behind the hotel. The spaces there are much more vehicle friendly on busier nights. Our staff can direct you on how to get there should you need assistance. Also, please feel free to request to have a staff member walk you to and from your vehicle if you ever feel unsafe. Our staff is here 24/7 to assist you in any way possible.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here one night en route to Charleston. The hotel is very well appointed and the room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast service was very good. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We appreciate your feedback! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us as you traveled to Charleston! I will be sure and share your feedback with the entire team and encourage them to keep up the great work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just stayed at the Columbia Courtyard. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance very noce people extremely clean room and property. Would definetly stay here again. I would say one of the finer Courtyards. One downside Kitchen isnt open for dinner but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esu3sgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor! I am happy to hear that you had a nice visit with us! I will be sure and share your feedback with our staff.

In regards to no afternoon/evening dining options; please come back and visit us in 2014. We are preparing for the Courtyard Bistro transformation. We will be offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily. Stay tuned to our website for details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Parking at the Courtyard was convenient and free. Our reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was very large and clean. The bed was comfortable. The linens were clean. The bathroom was clean, with modern fixtures that worked well.

It was pretty nice except that we were on the street side of the hotel on the second floor. Traffic noise was very obnoxious and it continued until rather late at night.

The room was very large with the sleeping area separated from a large sitting area, which had a nice couch and desk. However, you had to walk through this area to get from the bedroom to the bath area, with some doors that partly obstructed the way.

Breakfast, which cost extra, was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your visit with us. In the future, you can request to be on the non-street side of the hotel. It tends to be a little quieter on that side due to being farther away from the street side traffic.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is a short walk to USC. This Courtyard does not have the usual Bistro but there are plenty of places within walking distance. The staff is professional and friendly. Definitely recommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will congratulate the team on a job well done.

In regards to the Bistro; we will be undergoing the transformation real soon. I hope that you will visit us again once it is complete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.8 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#21 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#22 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $103 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, SAS Ticati.COM, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing