We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall, it was a good stay, but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
1 review
“Overall, it was a good stay, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

I regularly stay at Marriot Courtyards while on business trips. While this hotel had great public areas (very attractive lobby) and the rooms are renovated and comfortable, they have very substandard food service. On my first night in he hotel, I ordered room service for dinner. After taking an hour for it to arrive, the food was terrible and tasted like a bad Lean Cuisine. After placing my tray outside my room for pickup, it remained there for TWO DAYS!!!! I noticed that several other trays were in the hallway as well, making it smell terrible, so I finally called the front desk to collect them. There is absolutely no reason why food should sit out there for that long, as I imagine it violates numerous health codes. When visiting the restaurant for breakfast, I twice waited for 20 minutes before anyone came over to take my drink order and once just had to leave with no beverage after no one came over after 45 minutes. Put is this way, when you do finally place a drink order, go ahead and ask for the bill unless you plan on leisurely eating breakfast for 2 hours. Other than the food service, this met all the standards of a Marriot Courtyard.

  • Liked — Great renovated rooms
  • Disliked — The food service is the worst
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jen2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    142
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
116
37
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charleston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed one night in this hotel and had no major issues. They do charge you to park in THEIR garage though which is kind of odd and a pretty steep charge on top of your room charge. One elevator in the hotel was out and the other one was very slow. Parking garage was very small would not recommend for a large vehicle. Breakfast is NOT included in your stay so be prepared to pay $8-$10.00 a person for breakfast or go out. Nice beds and rooms. Not so sure worth the money might want to stop and exit or two before and check prices.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank sc2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for a few nights during the latest business trip. The hotel has been renovated very recently - and the place looks very chic and modern (exactly my slyle!) There is a very cozy bar in the lobby with a wonderful bar tender. Ask for a chocolate martini - that's her specialty.

The rooms themselves were perfect for a business traveler - had everything you'll need (complete with a big screen LCD/plasma TV and one of those cool massaging shower heads).

The only thing left to renovate were the elevators - so you felt like you stepped into a time capsule when the doors closed, but I think they were working on it back in January.

So - great hotel, great location!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
316 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

It looks like just about all the renovations are complete in this hotel and its a great hotel now.

Check-in
Easy and they let me change a room when they put me on the street side.

Room
Good size room. I have 2 queens for 139 night on a Wednesday in October. I didn't use it or ever look in but there was a mini fridge in there.
The room had a flat screen TV. They are nice but since there is no HD programing its sort of moot to me.

Bed
The bed was nice but I didn't like the pillows for my taste. They were all soft.

Bathroom
It was a bit small. It hard to move around the door when its open and you are in the shower. The shower had hot water right away and a nice flow.

Internet
Wireless, free and very fast.

Bar
VERY expensive but a nice place to unwind and have a beer with other guests. Even expensive for a hotel bar.

Checkout
Bill was under my door early and it was correct.

Parking
Free but the deck is very hard to drive in. If you have a big car it will require a 15 point turn to park and get out.

Overall I liked the hotel It looks like there are a lot of bad reviews but I think they might have been before the renovations. I'll stay here again when I'm in Columbia.

  • Liked — Fast internet
  • Disliked — Very expensive bar
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank morganrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiciago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

I recently stayed at this new Marriott property. What a beautiful place! The hotel is breathtaking, the rooms large and very comfortable. The staff at this hotel is over the top- great service with a smile. They are willing to go above and beyond. I spent some time relaxing by the pool- what a retreat. Also this is very central to the area- USC, local concert venues, museums, shopping , and dining. I never stayed here while in town on business before, but will be back again and again in the future. Also the food is excellent in the restaurant. While I was eatingthe manager came by to check on me..nice touch.Kudos, to the chef- the Sea bass and excellent!! Hope this helps fellow travelers!!! Mark

  • Liked — The entire hotel is great!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madav5763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.8 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#15 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Property: Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing