We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

While staying at this hotel this past weekend I was not that pleased with the service of the housekeeping staff. My room as not made up on of the days and found hair from past guest on the bed and in the shower. I have never had this happen to me at another hotel. This hotel should take a look at their housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us recently. I apologize for the sub standard condition of your room and have reviewed the comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure it does not happen in the future. We take our service standards very seriously and work hard to provide the highest service levels at all time. Thank you for your business. If you are in the Columbia area again, please contact the Hotel in advance and we will be happy to upgrade your reservation to a suite. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    154
    49
    19
    10
See reviews for
128
41
21
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I chose this location for its access to the archive library where there are loads of genealogical materials. The hotel was very nice and close to places to eat. It also had covered parking. Good place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee5555565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. Our prime location does make it so convenient to get to USC buildings, the State Capital, Colonial Life Arena and the Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I don't know why people complain at all about this hotel -- it has a lovely modern design and rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I had no noise issues. At one point some USC students who had been partying got rowdy out on the street at night and police were called to take care of it. I looked out my window and saw what was going on and went to tell my sister in her room and accidentally forgot my room key -- called staff and they came up immediately with another key. We asked them what was going on in the street below due to the police and the woman said, "It's OK, you're safe, just some students who got too loud." She was so reassuring and made us feel better immediately. What happened with the students was NOT the hotel's fault. Overall this is a lovely place in a terrific location close to USC campus, State House grounds, etc and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evvie_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay earlier this month. We strive to provide the best service possible and exceed our guests' expectations every day. We do have a great location and offer complimentary transportation to several nearby attractions and restaurants including the Five Points Area and Vistas Entertainment district. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for several nights during a conference. Nothing much to add to what you may have already read. Staff was efficient and quite nice. In fact, while walking to the parking lot, I was greeted with "Good morning, Sunshine" by someone in housekeeping. Now about that parking lot. It might just be best to drive past the first floor and go to the second or third. I drive a small Prius and I even had problems parking on the main floor. Check was easy. Elevators quick. Room was okay. I had a view of a rooftop. Street view was said to be louder from traffic but also hotter in the late afternoon. Unless you are on the higher floors on the westside, the view is blocked. Air conditioner was a little loud but cooled quickly. Breakfast was good although the first several days they only had two flavors of yogurt. Staff is breakfast ara is always there to keep your coffee cups full with a smile to boot. I went with healthy choices but someone is there to cook your eggs to your liking. Dinner and a bar is available at night but there are plenty of places nearby (The Vista) for fine dining. There are also several places to eat within a half block. Th exercise room was small but enough for me. Towels, headsets, TV for all machines available. Nice touches. Overall, a nice experience. Far better than I thought it was going to be.

Room Tip: West side more scenic but hotter. Go for room over pool on eastside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Our staff is the friendliest in Columbia and we take great pride in providing the best service every day. Our parking garage is a bit tight, but the outdoor upper lot has plenty of room for larger cars and trucks. Our location is second to none, closest to the Vistas and Five Points Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here one night during a business trip. Parking on 1st floor is hard to get in and out of. Hotel lobby and staff were wonderful. The room was very clean. The sheets needed to be replaced. They were old - thin and fuzzy (my co-worker did not have this issue in her room). The walls are pretty thin. I had small children next to me. I could hear everything they were saying. Good thing is they got quiet at bedtime. It was a quiet hotel after 10 pm. Within walking distance of great restaurants. Being downtown, you will be able to hear things from the outside. I heard a lady screaming and laughing outside and then sirens during this night. Not a big deal. It is expected to hear this kind of stuff when staying at a downtown hotel. Overall, a good hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We have a great, friendly staff at the Courtyard and work very hard at taking care of all our guests! We do have an outdoor parking lot that is more convenient if you have a larger car or SUV. Our shuttle also can take guests to various locations nearby on a complimentary basis. Thanks again for sharing your comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The walls are very thin and you can hear conversations in the next room. We requested a new room b/c the people next door were being loud, but the management was unwilling to accommodate our request. Terrible service!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience of the noise in the room adjoining you. We should have done a better job of resolving the issue and providing the best customer service you expected. I have reviewed the process with my Front Office Manager and will ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon in Columbia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

For the most part, this was a decent Courtyard experience.

Pros:
Consistent rooms, as I have stayed here on more than four different occasions
Under-ground parking
Proximity to restaurants
20 minutes to CAE airport
Some HDTV programming for the LCD screen in the room
Internet included for Gold-level

Cons:
Overwhelming kitchen odors in the dining area during breakfast
Parking is sometimes difficult
No free Wifi

I did not try the spa, and I never use room service. I might have rated this as a 4 if the rates were 20% lower.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business. The internet/wi-fi connection is complimentary for all our guests in your room and restaurant/lobby area. We do have an outdoor parking area on the second level which is very easy to access and park for larger vehicles. Thanks again for staying with us! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.7 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 94 in Columbia
890 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
0.9 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC

Property: Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
Address: 630 Assembly St, Columbia, SC 29201-4029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Columbia
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing