We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We always like to stay at Embassy Suites and have good luck there in almost any city. The staff was friendly at this hotel, the food was good in the morning and when ordering from the restaurant at night. The rooms left some room for improvement. The beds were made up with what looked like ill-fitting bed linens. The beds were comfortable though but the pillows..... Each bed has one good pillow and 2 flat cheap feeling pillows. The tub had rust around it, the Keurig coffee maker didn't work. And one thing about the cleanliness - There was a coffee spill or something on the dresser when we checked in. After 3 days, the housekeeper finally cleaned it. We had left it there to see how long it would take. The room was fine enough but I've seen better from Embassy Suites. These rooms are just a little on the shabby side.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevators are probably more quiet. We got a room upgrade to the Premier suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartlettSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thanks for the nice comments regarding the staff friendliness and the food served at breakfast and the restaurant. Thanks and we appreciate your business and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

make sure it is non smoking before checking in, or it will take awhile for housekeeping to come and just spray some stuff. had to change rooms. nobody said sorry, except maid that did the spraying. but the shuttle ride to whithin 5 miles was a good idea. the drivers are very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thanks for the nice comments regarding the shuttle driver and housekeeper. We always strive to provide the room type the guest is requesting. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel was great -- Was there for a training conference and the conference facilities were better than I have been at in a long time. Wonderful water feature in lobby very soothing when eating, We really enjoyed the huge breafast buffet. Lunch was outstanding and the evening snacks and finger foods was a nice suprise. Room was a suprise-wasnt expecting a suite type setup. EVerything was clean and smelled good. Other than a problem with out door lock everything was GREAT.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Sha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks for the comments and your business. We appreciate and are glad that you LOVE are hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The accommodations were very nice after an adjustment(smoke smell). I had concerns with cleanliness, and shared them. It was very quiet, everyone was very nice, and the breakfast was very good. It's also not far from the interstate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thanks for your comments and we look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Excellent hotel. Rooms are spacious, neat and clean. I like the convience of having a hot breakfast bar before meetings in the building as well as the managers hour with refreshments and drinks. Parking is crazy when there is a big event going on and the only place to dine without driving is the Waffle House across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We appreciate your business and comments. Thanks for the kind words about are hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our first experience with an Embassy Suites was at the Greesnboro, NC location. So we were expecting similar experience. We were not impressed with the Columbia, SC location. At checkin, we requested a different room because the first one they assigned had issues (heavy cleaning spray in the air that our kids immediately said yuck and held their noses, something splattered on the ceiling near the bedroom door, something still clinging to the side of the toilet bowl). The second room was better, but still had issues that we pointed out (missing knob to control refrigerator temp - froze all our food and extremely slow draining shower drain). The carpet in the lobby was filthy with food crums. The hotel rooms looks old and in need of updating. The pool/hot tub water didn't look very clean. The temperature on the hot tub seemed to vary greatly (one day way too hot and the next day like bath water). The indoor pool was not heated at all and felt a little cool. The managers reception needs something more than vegetables, chips and dip, and pretzel mix (it's all carbs-needs a protein-like cheese cubes). The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel with made to order omlets. Didn't like how staff started removing food from the bar exactly at 9am on the dot....despite the fact that the dinning area was full and people still getting food from the bar. There was plenty of food left. I feel that they should have been a more gracous host and left the food for their guests a little longer. The location is great if you are just going to visit the Zoo!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennypencher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thanks for the positive comments regarding breakfast and location. We will work with the housekeeper on this floor and retrain her. We apologize for this and will get this corrected quickly. Thanks for your business and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I loved the hotel as soon as I walked in. The appearance is lovely. I had a business meeting with about 12 people, and we had a nice meeting room for that. The evening reception was perfect for some social time before eating in the hotel restaurant. We all enjoyed our food there, also. Breakfast was terrific! Everyone was pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAEGS, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thanks for the nice comments regarding the hotel and the many amenities that we offer. We also have meeting space for as few as 12 people to has many as 700. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.6 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
933 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
2.5 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#23 of 93 in Columbia
592 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone

Address: 200 Stoneridge Drive, Columbia, SC 29210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $97 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful seven story all suite atrium hotel.. Spacious two room suites that have a microwave , coffee maker and refrigerator.Offer complimentary cooked to order buffet as well as a Manager's reception daily. Easy access from interstate 20 and 26, with free and open parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Columbia - Greystone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Columbia
Embassy Suites Columbia
Columbia Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing