We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in So-So Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Greensboro, Nc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in So-So Area”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This is a decent hotel in a not so decent area. The only sore spot is a shady looking hotel at the beginning of Zimalcrest Drive. You have to pass this hotel to get to the Courtyard. I can understand why there have been car break-ins because the hotel backs up to trees and is fairly isolated. If you clear out your car and have no visible wires, packages or clothing lying around – you should be fine.

The hotel staff was pleasant. We arrived a little after 1PM and were allowed to check in. We were given a king size room which was nice considering the last couple of times I booked through a discount travel site I was given double beds. The room was functional and decent for less than $60.

The hotel is pretty much right off of the highway which is nice. There are a few restaurants down the street (i.e Cracker Barrel). Wally World with a strip mall, including Pizza Hut is directly across the street. I wouldn’t be too scared if you are offered this hotel from a discount travel site. Just go with awareness.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truezeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    321
    211
    98
    63
See reviews for
449
181
80
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern U.S.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Like some of the other reviewers, I was assigned this Courtyard by Priceline--bidding $50 for a 3 star. I have traveled 150 to 200 days per year for close to 30 years--I know hotels, motels and everything in between.

This place was not built as a Courtyard--it doesn't have the right "feel." I think it was probably a Ramada or something like that in its previous life.

The bed was satisfactory, the TV and the selections were fine. There was free WiFi that worked well. But it just didn't come across as a Courtyard. The shower curtain was falling off the rod, there were hairs in the bathroom--that sort of thing.

It's located at the end of a dead end street--making it easy for the thieves that are mentioned in other posts to break into your car, carry your stuff through the woods to their car and come back for more. I did not leave anything in my car, but I do remember getting out and looking around thinking, "This would be a great place to break into cars."

I've been staying in a lot of Hampton Inns so I anticipate a complimentary breakfast. I wandered down to the lobby and was surprised that there was a sign saying that the breakfast--which didn't appear to be anything particularly special--was $8.95 plus tax., I decided to go to the Waffle House down the street.

If you're brand loyal to Marriott, and they price is very competitive, perhaps this is a good choice. Otherwise look elsewhere. Marriott should reevaluate allowing this property to use the Courtyard by Marriott panache.

Just another example of how you can never be sure what Priceline is going to come up with when you do their bid your price deal. Was it worth $50? Sure. But my being pleased that Priceline had gotten me such a good deal was premature.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I was placed in this hotel by Priceline for $60 (incl taxes it came to $75). We were in town for a concert at the Colonial Center on the USC campus and this hotel was about 6 miles away/15 minutes away.

Neighborhood was not so great but easily accessible from the interstate. The hotel itself was very clean and the rom was too. Beds were comfortable and triple sheeted. 4 pillows per bed. New large flat screen tv. Free Wifi that was easy to access. We were checked in by the evening manager and he was very friendly and helpful. Room was very quiet, we were on the bottom floor.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Your car will be broken into and you will leave with bedbug bites!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is a good business or leisure hotel if you need to be near downtown Columbia. The king room was large and had a nice desk to work from. There were no down pillows or comforter but the bed was comfortable. There was a large flat screen tv and a good but small gym. The best part was the fast free wi-fi. It was reliable and easy to join the network. Parking was tight in the lot and if you have a full size SUV you might have trouble. The restaurant food was standard hotel food and there was free coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasstown, NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Clean rooms, nice pool area, pretty good fitness room, great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We spent a nice evening here. We booked this room for $45 on priceline. The room and everything was clean. Employees were super nice, and helped us with restaurant selections in the area. We did not eat at the breakfast buffet, with was $8.99. There were three computer terminals in the lobby, with printer attached, for customer use. The hottub was clean, and no one was using it during our stay. We should have brought our swimsuits. It stayed open unitl 11pm, and was inside. The flat screen TV's in the room were nice. The hotel is not in the best area of Columbia, but we had no problem with vandalism as others have had.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — location of hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank REBELJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#23 of 94 in Columbia
608 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Address: 347 Zimalcrest Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-6833 (Formerly Hotel Zimalcrest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#25 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Northwest Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia Northwest
Columbia Courtyard
Columbia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing