We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to only have $1,000 in damage and theft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Travelers beware...

Surely there is a better choice for overnight stay in the area than the Courtyard Marriott in Columbia NW, SC!!! During our overnight, a Wednesday, EVERY vehicle in the parking lot was burglarized.

We were fortunate to have minimal damage compared to other vehicles and minimal loss of propert. Some business travelers had losses nearing $10,000 in computer equipment, tools, gps systems.

Having 8 years as a police officer and investigating these types of crimes, only offenders who are very comfortable with the area take the time to methodically hit every, single vehicle. While waiting to complete the report, we noticed broken glass from previous break-ins in the cracks of the pavement. According to the police, it's a very common occurrance here.

I saw zero evidence of effort on the part of Courtyard to prevent future incidents.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank slowdog55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2008

Nicely updated Courtyard hotel. Lobby, restaurant and all public areas are nicely redone and high quality. Rooms were also very nice, new carpeting, bathroom fixtures and great mattress with top notch bedding. Wireless internet was fast and free. The area surrounding the hotel is horrible. This is basically a safe haven in the middle of the ghetto. The other hotels in the immediate area are seedy and i have to say i didn't feel very safe venturing out away from the hotel. As far as the previous reviews about car vandalism i have to say i believe every word of it. I didn't feel comfortable leaving my rental car parked in the lot (but what else are you supposed to do?). So to sum it up, despite the fact that the hotel proper is very nice I cannot recommend this Courtyard simply because of the dangerous / seedy area it's located in.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

After reading the many negative reviews I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. My room was located down the hall from the lobby on the first floor. It was clean and spacious. The flatscreen tv was another plus. There is a Wallmart across the highway and plenty of restaurants close by. The free coffee in the lobby was nice. The breakfast looked good but we did not eat there. It was a buffet for $8.95 Had a great trip.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

I must disagree with the older reviews!! I just stayed at this Courtyard and had a wonderful stay!!! They must have completed a renovation because all rooms were like "new". I was pleasantly surprised to find a 32 inch flat screen TV awaiting me when I walked into my room. The staff was extremely nice and breakfast although not included in my rate was awesome. Thanks and I will return again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roadwarrrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

I'm a Marriott Platinum member and have stayed at quite a few Courtyards. This is one of the older Courtyards and it shows. The bedding (Nov '06) was the older style, my internet connection didn't work so I had to be moved, parking lot was dark and scary. I would definately choose the other Courtyard next time I stay in the Columbia area.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rtayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We tried to get a room at the Marriott downtown, and since they were full, we were sent here instead. What a disappointment!

I stayed here on business w/ a coworker, and both of our rooms were shameful. Mine was marked no-smoking, but absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. It was damp, the carpet was sticky, and we were both just a little nervous with the area of town it's in - looks like they're currently "revitalizing" the area, so maybe it'll be better in a year. Bed was okay, but not great and pillows were a bit musty (on both beds - yuck). Perhaps this hotel was nice at one time ... but currently it is NOT. It's currently undergoing renovations - to be fair - and I hope those renovations are completely as quickly as possible.

On a positive note, the breakfast was fantastic. :) Front desk help was not great when we arrived ~ 10pm, but the morning desk clerk was friendly and helpful. I very much would advise you to find somewhere else to stay!!! Especially if you're a female traveling alone.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrs.thanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I should have taken the advice of Trip Advisor!!! I read the reviews, saw that it was ranked 44 of 77 in the city and thought, "it's close to where I need to be and how bad can a Marriott Courtyard be?" I stay at a lot of different hotels and a lot of Marriott’s. This is the dirtiest Marriott property, including all Marriott brands, that I have ever stayed at. Dirty walls, nasty looking box springs, old and damged furniture uncomfortable bed, poor phone line, high speed internet that did not work and very, very loud. Also, I echo the review of December 15th in that; very poorly lit rear parking area in a less than desirable neighborhood. The desk staff at check-in was also rude and very slow in initially responding. A couple of young people who were cutting up in the back that took their time in getting to me with a warm welcome of “last name?” I turned in a response card with my displeasure when I checked out and have yet to hear from anyone at the property.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank islandsandsunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 93 in Columbia
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Bush River Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest

Address: 347 Zimalcrest Dr, Columbia, SC 29210-6833 (Formerly Hotel Zimalcrest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#25 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $78 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Northwest Hotel Columbia
Courtyard Columbia Northwest
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing