We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in Columbia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn At Claussen's
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best service in Columbia”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

From even before our arrival we experienced the most wonderful front desk staff ever at a hotel. I spoke with Roomy on several occasions to make sure everything was in order. It was a pleasure from our arrival to departure. He made us reservations, helped with wine selections and was well-versed on things to do in town. We will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RND_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
RND_12,

Thank you for allowing us to provide your accommodations while in Columbia. We do pride ourselves on having an excellent and friendly staff. I will be sure to share your comments with Rumi and the rest of our team.

Warm Regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
83
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tickle land, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location was within walking distance to several restaurants and bars. It is a "college" part of town so you will see young faces with backpacks.

The hotel itself is quite beautiful. It has a mixture of modern and old southern charm. This is not a chain hotel...it is a boutique.

Would highly recommend if you are looking for something local and different.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are nice. 202 has a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V1h13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments about The Inn at Claussen's. As you mentioned we are located near the University of South Carolina in Five Points and do see many students walking around. We are a charming community and are very delighted you chose to stay with us while visiting.

Sincerely,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at The Inn At Claussen's, and I've booked a third for the spring! Love how friendly the staff is and accommodating as well. The live plants throughout the building add to its coziness and sense of caring for the aesthetics within the inn. The "wine and cheese" in the evening is a huge plus before heading out to one of many good restaurants within easy walking distance. Everyone in our group slept well on very comfortable beds and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast brought to the room at the exact time we designated. The Inn at Claussen's is a joy to return to after a busy day of business, pleasure, or both -- This is "our" place to stay when visiting Columbia -- can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the ground floor if you like being able to step outside onto a walled patio to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 123Brenda4562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Brenda,

The staff at Inn at Claussen's would like to thank you for your review and your loyalty to our boutique inn. We strive to make all our guests as comfortable as possible from the moment they arrive until they leave.

Thank you again and we look forward to your arrival in Spring.

Regards,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varnville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My lady asked myself absolutely enjoyed our stay. We were looking for some where to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet for a couple of days. Here, we found exactly what we were looking for!
Steven (may have been spelled Stephen), our host, was beyond professional and courteous each day we were there. He guided us to everything from food, stores and even suggested the perfect place to enjoy some delicious dessert! We didn't need much, but what we requested, he obliged us without hesitation. For myself, in a world where professional people lack professionalism, he is the standard that should be strived for by all. So thanks to him and all those we didn't see, for affording us the simple luxury of peace and quiet and the atmosphere that all provided. Thank you! 5 Stars simply on service and atmosphere alone. The rest can't be measured! Stayed during the dates of 1/17-20/2014

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jawis,

Thank you for letting us know of your recent visit at The Inn at Claussen's. We are happy that Stephen went above and beyond in making you feel welcomed and at home while in town with us. We truly appreciate your comments and taking the time to write your review.

We look forward to your next arrival.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at The Inn for a Gamecock football game. Was within walking distance of everything we needed for the tailgate. But, the most outstanding part of the trip was the manger that weekend- Stephen. What a great host. He did everything right. And, we are still talking about what great care he took of everyone in my part. Hats off to a great hire.

Room Tip: Stayed right off the lobby and was near everything. Will request same room next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Maureen,

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Claussen's while in town for the Gamecocks. Stephen is a wonderful hotel representative, and we are very lucky to have him. It is pleasing that our guests notice his superior service.

Make sure to call us for the upcoming USC Gamecock season as rooms will sell out quickly.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is an excellent hotel for travellers who enjoy something a little different from the standard hotel. Great location. There are many restaurants, bars and retail outlets within walking distance. Adequate parking. Comfortable. Upscale, but not stuffy. We would stay again if are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JayandGee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear JayandGee,

Thank you for giving us such a great review. We are definitely not your cookie cutter hotel, which is what makes us so unique. Our staff is pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you while in Columbia again.

Regards,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in a nice room but..........the noise from the room above us was the worst experience we have ever had in a hotel. It sounded like they were moving LARGE furniture back and forth across the floor. This went on from about 10:00 at night until early morning. We let the front desk know but nothing was done. Going home to sleep!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mern8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mern8,

First I would like to apologize for the noise that you experienced during your visit with us this past weekend. While we thought the situation was under control, it wasn't until the next morning that we discovered it was in fact not.

I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future as we strive to leave a memorable, positive impression on all our guests.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
1.0 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Property: The Inn At Claussen's
Address: 2003 Greene St, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#26 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing