We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn At Claussen's
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had such a pleasant stay at the Claussen's for Parent's Weekend 2013. Very attentive and helpful staff. Erica Ford was of great assistance. The Inn is located in a prime location, walking distance to all attractions in Five Points. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Megan M,

Thank you for staying with us for Parents Weekend for USC. We are delighted you had such a pleasant time while guests at the Inn. I will be sure to let Erica know of a job well done.

Don't forget to book early for special events as we fill up early. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
83
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel, great location! Five points is fantastic and the Inn is very comfortable and clean. I had dinner at Mr. Friendly's, which was delicious. Very comfortable bed, plenty of space in the room, nice amenities. They deliver a continental breakfast to your room in the morning and my blueberry muffin was warm and freshly baked! Loved the wine and cheese in the evenings. Actually, I loved everything about the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Anne C,

The Inn at Claussen's is committed to delivering a memorable experience to every guest whether traveling on business or to Columbia with family. Thank you for allowing us to provide your hotel accommodations. As you mentioned we do provide a nice breakfast, complimentary, to your room daily.

We hope you choose to stay with us when in the area again.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband surprised me with a wonderful birthday experience here. The room was beautiful, nice patio outside the room. He got a package that included reservations at a great restaurant. Happy hour with wine and cheese in the beautiful lobby was a plus. After dinner, champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries were in our room. What a special treat! And we got breakfast in the room the next morning. The staff was courteous, very helpful and friendly. The entire experience could not have been better. Thanks to my husband and The Inn at Claussen's!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sarah G,

First, thank you for allowing us to be a part of your birthday celebrations. We are delighted we were able to share in such a memorable occasion for you and your husband. I am pleased you were elated with the nice romantic touches of the chocolate covered strawberries, champagne and dinner at one of the fine restaurants in Five Points.

Again, we appreciate you choosing (well, your husband) choosing The Inn at Claussen's.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow, what an amazing experience! The Inn at Claussen's is as good as it gets. Sure, you might be able to find a place that's fancier, but the staff really makes TIAC shine above the rest. When I arrived, I was greeted by my host Stephen, who went out of his way multiple times to ensure that my stay was the best it could be. Stephen 1. Straightened out a billing issue within 5 minutes of my arrive. 2. Made sure that my breakfast order was placed for the next morning. 3. Provided refreshment during TIAC's wine and cheese tasting. 4. Suggested the very best dinner reservation. 5. Made for some excellent company during my stay. In my opinion, if you stay anywhere else when visiting Columbia, you are crazy! This place is super clean, super quiet, and super friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mantonaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear mantonaccio,

We are so delighted to hear you had a great experience when staying with us during your recent trip to Columbia. Our sole purpose is to provide our guests with the personalized attention and customer service that you do not experience in other establishments.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words about Stephen to him and the rest of our staff here at the Inn at Claussen's. We welcome you back when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our second stay here, the first being three years ago. The desk clerk graciously changed rooms to allow us the same room we had inhabited during our first stay. Claussen's offers comfortable, uniquely decorated rooms. The first floor rooms have an outside patio. The bathrooms are modern. A daily happy hour offers wine, beer, cheese, crackers and fruit in the lobby which contains multiple seating groups. The wonderful (free) breakfast is served in your room which is a decadent treat! The staff is friendly and accommodating, genuinely nice and customer-oriented. The location allows patrons to walk easily to dining and entertainment in 5 Points.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cybrarianliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear NewStuff63,

Thank you for your sharing your comments with us and once again choosing to visit the Inn at Claussen's. I am happy to hear you found us just as accommodating today as three years ago. We appreciate your loyalty and we would love to welcome you back to visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Amy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Old bakery building, has retro charm and some challenges because of age. Big rooms, clean and updated. The staff was very kind and accommodating. The wine bar attached to Inn served a delicious meal. Shopping and places to eat within walking distance, close to USC. Located in Five Points. Parking was easy. Railroad tracks very close and may be a concern, so ask for room away from tracks.

Room Tip: away from tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear zthomas,

We value our guests and their feedback after visiting the Inn at Claussen's. We truly appreciate your kind thoughts about our quaint boutique property.

Thank you for choosing the Inn at Claussen's while in Columbia and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently spent a wonderful evening at Claussen's in Columbia,SC. It was not a football weekend so that might be a factor. The rooms were very nice,the staff excellent and the updated interior was a great contrast to the original exterior. A nice breakfast was included as well as wine and cheese in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaussensGM, General Manager at The Inn At Claussen's, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Pete S,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your high regards to your pleasant experience during your stay at the Inn at Claussen's. We do hold customer satisfaction to our highest importance. We are delighted you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast delivered to your room and the evening cheese and wine reception in the lobby.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the rest of our customers. Please visit us again when in the area.

Sincerely,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.2 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#34 of 94 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Property: The Inn At Claussen's
Address: 2003 Greene St, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#26 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing