We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, but not southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn At Claussen's
Ranked #33 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Essex, MD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, but not southern Hospitality”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and was very disappointed. First impression of the Inn is wonderful, it is a historic building (former bakery) that has been renovated and they did a great job! The rooms are very large and comfortable. Then there is the breakfast......definitely continental!! Your choice is bagel, croissant, hard boiled eggs, fruit cup and yogurt. Having stayed in many less expensive hotels with complimentary breakfast, the breakfast here was a big disappointment. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful and others were "stuffy", not at all what I normally experience in the South. There is also a train track very close to the Inn, and while it did not bother me, if you are sensitive to noise.....the train going through is very loud!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
55
83
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved the room we had, but was not impressed with the overall value of the property. The staff was courteous and took reasonable care of us. While some said the the neighborhood wasn't the greatest, we took several walks and thought the area was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Based on others' earlier review, I thought this might be the hotel we were looking for. We wanted a place within walking distance of shops and restaurants, and my husband always looks for a place that includes breakfast. This was perfect! We stayed two nights and walked a few steps to two different restaurants--both were excellent. (And, we happened to time our visit with Restaurant Week--an added bonus.)

We were on the first floor, which included an outdoor sitting area. Breakfast is light--with choices of breads and fruits with juice and coffee/tea. Breakfast is delivered to your room. Staff was helpful and friendly. Within walking distance of little shops and the university. Car is necessary to drive to the historic area and walking areas along the river.

Note that the property is close to train tracks, which might be a problem for light sleepers.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on east side of building have little patio areas outside the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have visited Columbia many times (kids in college) and this is my favorite. Its a convenient location, the staff is very efficient and friendly, and they bring you breakfast. I will stay there again/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseP3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Traveled to Columbia, SC with my wife for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed the wine/cheese reception in the lobby and complimentary breakfast delivered to our room. The staff was friendly and met our needs. Enjoyed within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants as well and just a few blocks from the USC campus. "Green" bath products, comfy king-size beds as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Claussens Inn for one night and had a great time. The wine in the lobby at night was excellent, and breakfast in bed the next morning was so relaxing. Our king room was really nice and quiet. The staff were all very friendly. It was fun to be right in the middle of Five Points with nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Inn was once the home to the bakery of the same name. It is now a stylish 28 room, two story, contemporary Inn without the "Grandma-like" atmosphere so many Inns and B&B's have. There is a small bar right in the lobby next to check-in. Not a separate room, but a counter offering all top shelf liquors. We each received a complementary drink (of our choice), upon our arrival. There are also offerings of nibbles that are pleasant with ones cocktail. The lobby offers small tables and pleasant chairs. Employees were very friendly and professional. Our two story room was well-appointed and sleek in all black and white. One and a half baths, one upstairs in the loft by the queen bed, the other off the living area. Bath products are all "Green" Eco-friendly. Room service offers complemlentary breakfast of very nice choices! I'd come back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Look at their website to see images of the various layouts as each room is unique onto itself. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.1 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 94 in Columbia
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#24 of 94 in Columbia
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#16 of 94 in Columbia
573 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Property: The Inn At Claussen's
Address: 2003 Greene St, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#26 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing