We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn At Claussen's
Ranked #28 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun place to stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have visited Columbia many times (kids in college) and this is my favorite. Its a convenient location, the staff is very efficient and friendly, and they bring you breakfast. I will stay there again/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseP3077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
55
84
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Traveled to Columbia, SC with my wife for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. Really enjoyed the wine/cheese reception in the lobby and complimentary breakfast delivered to our room. The staff was friendly and met our needs. Enjoyed within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants as well and just a few blocks from the USC campus. "Green" bath products, comfy king-size beds as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Claussens Inn for one night and had a great time. The wine in the lobby at night was excellent, and breakfast in bed the next morning was so relaxing. Our king room was really nice and quiet. The staff were all very friendly. It was fun to be right in the middle of Five Points with nice restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Inn was once the home to the bakery of the same name. It is now a stylish 28 room, two story, contemporary Inn without the "Grandma-like" atmosphere so many Inns and B&B's have. There is a small bar right in the lobby next to check-in. Not a separate room, but a counter offering all top shelf liquors. We each received a complementary drink (of our choice), upon our arrival. There are also offerings of nibbles that are pleasant with ones cocktail. The lobby offers small tables and pleasant chairs. Employees were very friendly and professional. Our two story room was well-appointed and sleek in all black and white. One and a half baths, one upstairs in the loft by the queen bed, the other off the living area. Bath products are all "Green" Eco-friendly. Room service offers complemlentary breakfast of very nice choices! I'd come back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Look at their website to see images of the various layouts as each room is unique onto itself. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Columbia, SC to visit the Riverbanks Zoo with another couple. We decided to stay the night and what a wonderful & delightful gem we found in The Inn at Claussen's. It is located in the Five Points area of Columbia...wonderful area for shopping, eating, walking, etc. Very close to USC. The Inn is a former bakery and absolutely beautiful. I especially liked the interior corridors. The staff was very attentive and pleasant to work with. Very nice accomodations in the rooms...more than expected. Very nice furnishings and beautiful furniture and art located throughout the Inn. We cannot wait to return to the Inn and hope to so do in the very near future. I highly recommend this Inn, and would suggest reserving a king bed size room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southicedtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We live in Augusta,Ga. and just wanted to get away for a night. Columbia is just a little over an hour away. I liked to stay at B&B's when I can,but this boutique hotel,once a bakery, was in a good location and we liked the look of the space. We stayed in an upstairs room above the lobby which I recommend. Some of the 1st floor rooms have private patios,but I like being on an upper floor. The room was very nice and we loved the walk-in shower. They serve a complimentary continental breakfast to our door. The only thing missing was an outdoor common area in our opinion. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you are bothered by trains sleep on the side away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

An old, historic bread bakery turned boutique hotel, Claussen's inn does have something of the "institutional feel" about it in the cavernous lobby and the old factory windows in the rooms, among other things. So it's not cozy and plush, it's sort of spare but very modern and nicely restored. If this is your cup of tea, then this is a very nice alternative to the cookie cutter hotel chains. Be aware that it's smack downtown and that the bars can be noisy and the train runs right behind the parking lot, but the rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff super friendly. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different decor. Ask what's available. Rooms away from the lobby are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at USC Wyndham Garden
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Property: The Inn At Claussen's
Address: 2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#15 Business Hotel in Columbia
#26 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing