We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop for lunch on the way south”

Pawleys Front Porch
Ranked #17 of 977 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Newark, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great stop for lunch on the way south”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A great burger place near the University of South Carolina, Pawley's is worth getting off the interstate for lunch. Caters to the college crowd, but even old snow birds like us feel welcome - and full! Delicious salads, yummy monster burgers. Don't order your burger with just a plain kaiser roll - it won't hold up to the juiciness - get the pretzel roll or the ciabatta. Service is fast and friendly - it's great being around a young, lively crowd.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    200
    100
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great pitstop on the way from NC to Charleston”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We dined here for lunch and truly enjoyed the big burgers. My husband and I shared a burger and salad and it was plenty. The salad with strawberries is wonderful! We had a short wait but it was worth it. We would definately go back when we travel from NC to the lower south region.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxboysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gimmicky, okay hamburger trying to hard to be different or unique”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The portions of the hamburgers are generous. One must quickly eat the hamburger as the sauces cuase it to become a squishey mesh after about the third bite. The different types of toppings or themed hamburgers are very gimmicky. There is nothing special or standout about these hamburgers. The sweet-potatoes fries were the best part of the meal. I also ordered a side of fried pickles which were well executed. Parking in the rear of the restaurant helps especially being in the Five Points area. Fast service during lunch but half of the waiters just walked around in what looked like a daze. One waiter spilled a pitcher of tea and wiped it up with some towels by the bar. He then collected all of the towels from the ground and placed it on the bar to go get a mop and bucket. Not so sanitary, the dirty towels were left on the bar for about 20 minutes. Cost to quality ratio is greatly lacking. The target audience for this restaurant is the local college kids.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMilitary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great burgers, pretzel bun ,sweet potato fries, and good atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Try the pretzel bun. The burgers are very tasty, offering a wide variety very similar to Poe's on Sullivan's Island. You can't go wrong with the Isle of Palms or the Caw Caw Creek, heck any of 'em!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rdklomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest burger you will find BUT one of the BETTER ones... Good Variety”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

At $10- 12 a meal for a burger Pawleys may not be everyday dining, but should we really be eating burgers everday :) .. Great place to go for a great burger if you are willing to pay just a little more for something better than the expensive combos of todays fast food world anyway. Recent visit reminded me of just how much I like it. Delicious! Definite must from time to time. Don't tell my fitness trainer.

Tuesday offers 1/2 price specials on burgers from 4-7 but limited to dine in. WELL WORTH IT !

Great beer select or mixed drinks to go with a variety of options for burgers. Bring a big appettite, burger is huge. You are paying a bit more but you are definitely getting it.. nice side choices fries, onion rings, pasta salad, etc. Even sweet potatoes fries are offered. Awesome change from the norm.

Outdoor Patio/ Bar is great on a nice day.
Place gets packed , especially in evenings. Usually a college atsmosphere but enjoyable for all.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfxtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pawleys Front Porch also viewed

 

Been to Pawleys Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing