We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would give a 6 if possible”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #355 of 965 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would give a 6 if possible”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Sushi is outstanding. The grade of the sushi is on the top end. We had some scallop sushi, Uni and other "pro"-stuff. Everything, really everything exceeded our expectations. We were here 1.5 years ago while in the area and will come back every time we'll be here. Thank you sushi Chef!! Keep up the good quality. So many other sushi restaurants are so inconsistent. Enough said, try it out

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Find us here every Friday night”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Sakura has been our family's favorite for many, many years. The simple but clean dining room is quiet and just big enough. Don't expect your typical trendy sushi--this is authentic Japanese cuisine. The servers are competent and accommodating. When they see us come in, they know mom will have a hot tea and dad order get 18C, his long-standing favorite. Yes it is tucked away from the busy Forest Acres intersection but if you make it in, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almost heaven, WV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My nephew graduated boot camp and wanted sushi, so we looked up Sakura. Must be one of Columbia's best kept secrets because it was impossible to find unless you are a local. Sits to the back of the building it is in, but with no sign on road to direct. Looked everywhere on main road for any type of sign when we left and there was nothing. A local helped us find it.
The sushi, for all who had sushi (and love it), thought it was mediocre. I thought it lacked flavor. The California rolls were the smallest any of us had ever seen. My sister got a Teriyaki dish and thought it was somewhat salty too. Maybe we are "sushi snobs", but we live in WV and have had better here!
Our waiter was terrific, as we were in a bit of a time crunch. He was very attentive and kept things moving so we weren't late getting my nephew back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crittermother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was leery to try Sushi in the Carolinas but this was our lunch spot. Not good at all. Teriyaki chicken was incredibly incredibly overloaded with soy sauce or salt. California rolls were average at best and the salad greens looked to be pretty dated, bordering on brown. Maybe I should've gone with actual sushi, because I certainly wouldn't get the teriyaki chicken again. No service issues, though, just not good. Kudos that's didn't have to pay too much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice food, great staff, clean restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Impressed. Accommodating to my allergies. Fresh food, not a grease pit. LOTS of food on your plate. Simple, clean atmosphere. Great waitress.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing