We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roof top bar hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This got too be the best hotel in south Carolina the Roof Top bar Starbucks marti bar in the safe the pub in the base ment and the Tvs in the bathroom are you kidding me and mini bars in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greateyehoteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 568 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is an awesome hotel that used to be an old bank in downtown Columbia! I was traveling with several co-workers, and we had a total of 10 rooms. Each room is very unique, and I would say the only downfall that the rooms have is that they have hardwood floors in them, and being that the hotel is so old, you can hear your neighbors every move!!

Besides that, the hotel was very friendly, clean, and just a fun place to be. The rooftop bar is great, and "The Vault" bar is a great place to sit, relax, and have a martini. When it comes to food and beverage, I would reccomend that you do not eat breakfast on the 2nd floor in the morning, as the service was awful! I sat down and ordered an OJ prior to me placing my breakfast order, and the OJ never came after 10 minutes, so I just got up and left.

Minus that one case, I would by all means return to this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonColumbia, Director of Sales at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and we're happy to hear that you consider the Sheraton Columbia Downtown "a fun place to be!" Our staff aims to exceed our guest's expectations and I'm sorry to hear that you received bad service during breakfast. I appreciate you sharing this information, as I will make sure to communicate your complaint to the appropriate staff members. We are happy to hear that you still enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I frequently have to travel to Columbia for work and this is usually where I book. It's a great location right downtown and in walking distance of a lot of restaurants and bars so once you are through with business, you can stay close to the hotel (although if you rent a car you either have to valet park or deal w/ feeding the meters so prepare for that expense). The rooms are beautiful with dark hardwood floors and very comfy beds. They are spotlessly clean and have nice shampoo and conditioner (hey this is important - I hate packing that stuff). The only thing is its pretty noisy sometimes. Traffic noise all night long and if you've got people going through the hall - you can hear that too. Ask for a room at the end away from the elevator and you'll be happier. The staff is incredibly friendly and on top of things so they will do their best to accomodate your requests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Had a very nice stay here on a short business trip. Main Street restaurant was very good and the beds were very comfortable, enjoyed the wood floors in the room as well as the flat screen tv's in the bedroom and bathroom. Great location!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanhead76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

While staying at the Sheraton I had a most wonderful experience. The rooms were small but the space well utlized and decorated beautifully with a bit of the old and the new. I was very comfortable in my bed-which is more important that ANYTHING else.
Jack-hands down- was the most accomodating personable conseirge I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. He went well past the extra mile to make myself and my colleuges taken care of. He even walked with us to a less desirable parking garage where we foolishly left our car so we had protection from the local bums on the corner-who Im sure were harmless but in stilettos and luggage we were easy targets!! I will most certianly stay there every chance I get when in Columbia!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grovetownhotmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I went to Columbia for a business meeting and stayed two nights at the Sheraton. This former bank and office building has been transformed into a charming hotel. It's retained a lot of its historic and distinctive features like the bank vault, hard wood floors, large windows, etc. The rooms are a bit small but that's to be expected considering it was a former office building. It didn't matter because the rooms had great features like flat screen TVs, marble bathrooms, a TV in the bathroom, high-speed internet, and nice views of Columbia. The hotel's greatest asset is it's warm and friendly staff. They were all quick to welcome me, provide any helpful suggestions, and try to accommodate any request. This extended to all the staff including those in the restaurants and bars. I ate at the pub downstairs, watched sports on TV and chatted with the bartender who gave me some good tips about the city. The rooftop bar was fun and had great views of the city. It's definitely the place to be on a Friday night. Overall, I would recommend staying at the Sheraton. It's a beautiful hotel with great staff and close to anything you need to get to (including USC).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

It's a coverted bank/office building turned boutique hotel right in the center of town. The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and very business functional. There are two fun places for drinks - the rooftop bar with views of the city and The Vault. Yes, the old bank vault now serve great martinis. The best feature was the very, very friendly and helpful staff. They make you feel like part of the family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotRod_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 94 in Columbia
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#21 of 94 in Columbia
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#17 of 94 in Columbia
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $119 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing