We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cedrick's House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at the Sheraton in Columbia. I will be honest that I spent most of my time in the concierge lounge with Cedrick, who made me feel right at home. I travel extensively and I am noticing more and more that employee's don't even look up from their phones to greet a paying customer, let along accommodate their every request. The service was outstanding from the concierge level to the dining room for breakfast. The room was clean, cozy, and cute. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear about the impecable service you experienced during your stay. We take great pride in our guests satisfaction and appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for your business at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 568 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Good club lounge. Hotel old but quirky. Appears to be clean. Rooftop bar ok. It's a converted bank. Rooms are smallish. Pricy for location so everything a bit squashed together. Not a lot close by in evenings. Not sure many options for city. No issues.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are 100 year old renovated bank building, therefore, the room sizes of our sleeping rooms do vary since we built the rooms around the original structure. There are some rooms within the hotel that are smaller than others. There are multiple bars and restaurants within 5 blocks of the hotel on Main Street and in the Vista area. We are also a downtown hotel and our rate are comprable to our full service hotels in the area. We thank you for your business at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The first impression was not good. Busy street traffic, cramped, crowded lobby, finally checked in and found out that room was not ready (1 pm) and was not provided with timeline in which it would be ready. Was not able to get into room until after 4 pm, 3 hours later.

However, rest of stay was nice. High ceilings in room, very comfortable rooms and windows that provided just enough light. One of the better rooms I have stayed in. Multiple lounges including a roof top bar and multiple restaurants in immediate area.

Location is great. Only 2 block walk to Gervais Street or a $3 cab ride. On Saturday morning, the street was blocked off for a farmers market type set up. Good way to kill a little time on a groggy weekend morning.

Stayed at many hotels in Columbia, will stay here again.

Room Tip: King room is a little snug, but bed is top notch.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tperdue4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank You for taking the opportunity to post a review on Trip Advisor. I would like to apologize for the delay you experienced during check in. Our standard check in time is at 3pm, however, our front desk staff should have provided some type of time frame in which it would take to have your room ready. I am delighted to hear that your experience was delightful in the end and that you enjoyed your accomodations. Thank you for your business at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A scuffed up boarding house type room that needed a coat of paint, decent clean carpeting, floors refinished, the furniture replaced and the rate reduced. A wreck pretending to be a charming period piece . Try the Marriott around the corner first!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank AntonRaphaelMengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We value all of our guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to talk about your experience. We do take pride in our renovated hotel and want our valued guests to feel comfortable in the accomodations we have to offer. Thank you for your business and we do hope you will give the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel an opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The valet service, under contract with the hotel, was responsible for the theft of over $500 worth of clothing locked in a rental car trunk. After police inspection, it was determined that there was no forceful breaking and entering so that the only way to get into the car was by use of a key or not locking the car by the valet parker. Hotel management offered a $100 credit as compensation and did not admonish the contract valet parking company as being liable. E-mail request to the hotel owner did not get any response for further compensation.

Therefore, all valet service users should be aware.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Judy388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will take into consideration your experience to better train our staff. Our valet was outsourced to a different company and any issues with your vehicle that was valet parked would fall under the responsibility of the valet service and not the hotel.The parking garage utilized in city owned and not even property of the hotel. The hotel did offer $100 of compensation as a courtesy to a valued guest. I do sincerely apologize for the situation that occurred and would like to pass along that we are now doing handling our valet service in house. Thank you for your business at the Shearton Columbia Downtown Hotel and we hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

don't know where to begin...had the most friendly check-in. i parked on the street and the valet took care of my car. bags were brought up to my beautiful room on the 14th floor. the room was gorgeous...dark wood floors, plush bedding, tv in bathroom. my room was extremely comfortable. room service was awesome...brought food quickly. the chefs omelette and belgium waffles were perfect. nice coffee makers in the room. i really cant find anything wrong with this hotel...our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank local_diner929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It brings us great pleasure to hear about your wonderful stay here at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel. We are delighted to hear about your experience and appreciate your feedback in reference to your accomodations, dining experience, and staff experiences. We thank you for your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were visiting Columbia for one night to go to my daughters sorority parents cocktail. We chose the Sheraton because of its convenient location to the function. The hotel is in an old bank building. It has a real cool bar that is located inside the old bank vault. They also have a very cool roof top bar overlooking the city. The valet, front desk and all the Sheraton staff were very professional, courteous and helpful. The rooms are a little small but very clean and updated. The beds are so so COMFORTABLE!!! I highly recommend this hotel and will most definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. It brings us great pleasure to hear about our guests enjoyable experiences. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your accomodations as well as the hospitality our staff had to offer. Thank you for your business and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#9 of 94 in Columbia
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#21 of 94 in Columbia
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#17 of 94 in Columbia
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $119 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing