We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$159
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$168
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$103
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$77
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
199
208
100
55
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
208
100
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barthe club loungebank vaulthardwood floorsoffice buildingan older buildingparking garageself parkflat screen tvcorner roomstate housevista areasouth carolinavaletspglobbycapital
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 596 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment you walk into this property, you know that you are going to have a good experience. It's a beautiful building, converted from an old bank, maintaining the theme and charm throughout. The folks that greet you at the front desk are friendly and helpful, exuding Southern manners and sophistication. They even walk around from behind the desk to hand you your keys, a really nice touch.

Off the main lobby, you will see "The Vault," a cool and cozy little bar. For the coffee drinkers, there is a Starbucks also. On the 17th floor, there is a rooftop jazz lounge that offers great entertainment and beautiful views of the city. If you want to get out of the hotel, you are within blocks of downtown eating and entertainment venues.

The room is nicely appointed with good, heavy doors, dark wood floors and more good views of the city (the higher up, the better). There are even TVs in the bathrooms, just in case you can't stand to be disconnected from CNN while showering. The beds are comfy and (usually) cleaned well. The workout room, while small, is always clean and the machines work. There are free-weights if you want them. The club lounge is always nicely-stocked.

If anything isn't perfect, they'll do their darnedest to make it so.

You will not regret staying at this hotel, and if you stayed here once will probably make it your go-to on any future trips to Columbia.

Bank on it.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the views, but all of the rooms are equally nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firestonejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the wonderful experience you had at our hotel. We love when our guests give us feedback, especially when it's pleasant. We take pride in the service we offer to our guests, and expect our staff to convey to our guests how much we appreciate them. We are happy that you took the time to explore the venues we have to offer. The Vault Martini Bar and the Rooftop Bar are favorites among visitors and locals. They have become Columbia Hot Spots. We also find that the TV in the bathroom has become a guest favorite, as well. Please let us know when you are planning to stay with us again. We can make sure we give you a room on a higher floor. Thank you, again for letting us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. We appreciate you and your business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located in an old bank in downtown Columbia. It has a lot of charm. The room is spacious and clean and I cannot fault it for comfort. The king size bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was quiet. The decor struck me as a bit "cold" though due to the color combination and the lack of warmth on the floor (no real rug to speak of). The restaurant in the hotel tries very hard to offer an upscale experience, but they made many mistakes, from the sparce service to the meals delivered short of how they are advertised (no bacon on the bacon cheeseburger at dinner, and an ice-cold "toasted" bagel with butter for breakfast). It was perfectly fine for a short-business trip to Columbia, but I would not recommend for a romantic escape with your loved one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parishoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed a very comfortable stay in our guestroom. We are happy that you appreciated the historic nature of our hotel. We apologize for not meeting our standards with our food and beverage. We strive to give all our guests a four diamond experience, and we are disappointed to hear when we've fallen short. This will be addressed with our Food and Beverage Department. We have recently hired new chef's and have already seen great improvements. We hope to have you back so we can show you the wonderful service we have to offer. Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My experience was at the martini bar called The Vault. Kristi Eddo was attentive and very prompt in service. The Vault is a nice cozy bar for a quiet glass of wine or martini. I was there Tuesday and Wednesday. The service was consistent and the people there were pleasant and good company also.

Frank Mims

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

The Vault Martini Bar is a favorite among our guests. We are glad that you took advantage of our cozy, intimate bar. We are also pleased that you had such a great experience with the service and other guests. We look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Sheraton Columbia "ROCKS" !!!!
Wife and I left the kids at home this time and went on a road trip, we decided to see some friends and meet and stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown hotel !!!!!
From the clean hotel room, to the "club level" breakfast and dinner wine and snacks....
the staff was very professional and A+ rating, except room service which was very difficult catch.The room service number seemed as no one ever picked up. RING !!! RING !!!!!
But that did not spoil our trip..we ended up having a few drinks at the hotel's bars, one is called "THE VAULT" the other is the "THE ROOFTOP LOUNGE"
All the bartenders where excellent.....very professional and the service was A+ rating as well.
Kristi Eddo and Allison Keyser, made our stay at this hotel one of the best !!!!
My wife and I enjoyed the level of customer service that they provided for us, while we were on vacation. This hotel will be our first choice when visiting Columbia, SC.
D.Wilson

Room Tip: Reserve the "Club level room" . This will allow you to wake up late and have a hot breakfast for free, for club members only..and you can take the food and drink back to your room if you like.....
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djuan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time staying at our hotel! We appreciate the feedback. We will address the room service issue, so you have an easier time with it during your next visit. We are happy to hear that your visited our popular Vault Martini Bar and Rooftop Bar. They really are Columbia hot spots. It is also great to know that our staff treated you so well. We appreciate your business and are thrilled that the Sheraton is your first hotel choice in Columbia. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton for a work conference. For the two nights I was there, I dealt with both Robyn and Danielle on separate occasions and they were both absolutely wonderful! Every hotel should strive to have their front desk staff be as great as both of these ladies. Sheraton, these girls should be running training programs on how to treat all guests and any issues that arise during one's stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWhitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding our staff. We are very pleased to hear that you are being treated so well by our staff, especially our front desk agents. It is our goal to treat guests with the utmost service, and it is nice to hear that we are following through. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews