We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Columbia Marriott(Columbia)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Trundle(Columbia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
199
209
100
55
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
209
100
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barthe club loungebank vaulthardwood floorsoffice buildingcharming hotelan older buildingparking garageself parkflat screen tvcorner roomstate housevista areasouth carolinavaletspglobby
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 597 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff were very friendly. The room was small by US standards but OK if you have travelled to Europe. A converted bank so it was fun & different with wooden floors & large white tiled bathrooms. Our room was "handicapped friendly" so the shower was huge. I do not know if this is typical in the hotel but we could have easily held a party with 6 "very good friends" in it. The location is OK if the weather was good with a short 10-15 minute walk to a large selection of restaurants in the sowntown area. We only stayed 1 night before meeting family for a Graduation ceremony so had a few drinks & ate in "The Vault". The fish & chips were good and since the bar was not busy it was cosy. We visited the rooftop bar but it was too cold to stay up there and since no-one was there it had no atmosphere anyway. In summer it might be different. The POSH restaurant was only open for dinner & did not seem to have a great atmosphere either. The Main Street restaurant is no longer open except for private parties so there was no lunch facility which is not indicated on the website nor in the in-room literature. I had already checked in the car so I was not impressed to learn this. There was a nice little cafe up the road with healthy wraps/sandwiches with very friendly staff so if you are caught out as we were I would recommend that for a light lunch. Overall the hotel was a good choice if visiting downtown Columbia for business or a very short personal visit such as this one especially when the weather gets better so you can walk to the downtown areas for dinner or lunch & then use the rooftop bar to relax before bed.

Room Tip: Ask about room size if that is important to you. I heard the higher floors were smaller & we were on the 6th. Room was small by US standards but OK if you have travelled to older European hotels.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBthere30062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our hotel is a boutique-style hotel, with smaller, cozier rooms. We are glad that you liked the large shower. We are in the process of updating our website to reflect the new changes to our food and beverage venues. We apologize for any inconvenience with regards to eating lunch. You are correct that our Rooftop is a very popular location in the warmer months. We are just about to reach the ideal weather season which makes visiting the Rooftop so pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

While the hotel is beautiful and the staff friendly. There are also nice places to eat and have a drink onsite, but the main reason I stay in a hotel is for the private accommodation space. Their is such potential for this to be an awesome place to stay, but the cleanliness was terrible. We had to be moved from one room because of mold and scum in our shower. The room we were moved to did not have the scum and much less mold, but was not mold free. The TV did not work in the bedroom, there were no cups for the Starbucks coffee pods (great feature I would have enjoyed), a light was burned out, dust was hanging from the air vent, something was sprayed all over the bathroom door window, and the counter had crud on it. There are hardwood floors - but our room had loose boards.
The room and bathroom were beautiful. I'm sure if you get a clean and maintained room this would be a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you so much for bringing the issues regarding your stay to our attention. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We have addressed our staff and discussed what our standards are for our hotel. Our guests are very important to us, so we take it very seriously when one has a less than ideal experience. Our hotel standards are much higher than what you witnessed. We hope to have another chance to impress you with our level of excellence that we expect to show each and every guest. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great staff, Leith, Jerrica, Kate, Sean, to mention a few. I have stayed there off and on for business for the last five months and it is the perfect away from home stay. I sort of feel like Norm from Cheers. It has become the place "where everybody knows my name". The food in the Club Lounge is delicious comfort food and it is so relaxing to come back to the hotel after a hectic day and not have to worry about where I am going to eat. It is the best Sheraton experience. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I love the suites. They are spacious. Check the city's calendar, there are always activities downtown on Saturday morning. One weekend, they had two parades.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dilsa, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you feel as if you are at home when you're here. We strive to give our guests the home-away-from-home experience. We thank you for your positive feedback, and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great hotel, very comfortable. We went to the vault bar and Lily the bartender was great. She was so friendly to everyone and is number one. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Lily is an asset to the company.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel so much, and that Lily made a great impression on you. She is an asset to our company and we are fortunate to have her as part of our team. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Mr. Leith McGuire is a great ambassador for your hotel. He is a diligent worker who responds quickly whenever we are in need of something in the Club Lounge. His attentive service greatly increases the quality of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for letting us know how well you were treated by our staff. We are pleased to hear that you received such great service from Mr. McGuire. His efforts will not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews