We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel of my dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The atmosphere at the Sheraton Columbia is my favorite part of an all around excellent hotel.
The service is always impeccable. I love the vault and rooftop bar. The rooms are on the small side but quaint and well furnished. some rooms have a huge shower. And I like the TV in in the bathroom. Breakfast delivery is nice and not too much overpriced like some places.

Our hotel of choice in columbia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la_d0lly_vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are so pleased to hear about your pleasant experience staying at our hotel. We love to receive feedback from our guest, especially when it's positive . It's great to hear that our service provided to you was great. The Roof Top and Martini Bars are unique spots for Columbia guests, so it's nice to know how much you enjoyed them. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 582 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Parking plan is awful- lot is shared with Marriott. No clear route. Lounge well stocked. Rooms nothing special but clean. Concierge lounge small but food was plentiful for dinner and breakfast. Check in/out was efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. As always, we strive to give our guests the best experiences, and use all comments to better our hotel. We realize that parking is limited in the downtown area, and we hope to resolve the issue in the near future. We do offer Valet parking as an option for guests who would rather not navigate the parking garage. We will make a point to better explain the parking situation, so future guests will be better informed. Again, thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business, and hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My one night stay here was just great. Nice, clean, quiet room with a view of beautiful trees. Such a friendly, efficient staff made the stay wonderful. It was so convenient to everything -- I walked all over, and Columbia isn't much of a city, but the Art Museum was very good.
I'd recommend the club membership with dinner and breakfast -- all day coffee, snacks and a gorgeous sunrise. If I ever go to Columbia again, I'd certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkellyshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive to make our guests feel welcome and have the best experiences possible. It is great to hear that you took advantage of all that Club Lounge has to offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Check in was fast, room was clean and had that boutique feel. Only problems were a broken handle on the shower door, no cable and a broken alarm clock. For a hotel that looks so nice and has such a great staff, including Lauren or Stormy (sorry, asked at the front desk but they weren't sure of who was working the morning of November 19) who was very nice and helpful with breakfast in the Club Lounge. Hopefully the rooms will be completely fixed with working cable the next time I pass through Columbia.

Room Tip: Ask if everything works in the room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvugrad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We will make sure that our rooms are more closely inspected, so to avoid this situation in the future. We look forward to having you stay with us again. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Old building, creaky rooms not renovated enough to be first class. However,my main objection was trying to order room service from the "Midnight Snack" section of the in-room menu, which stated that it was available until 12:00am. Tried ordering at 11:20pm and was advised by disinterested front desk staff that room service ceased at 11:00pm. When I referred them to the in-room menu (which clearly stated service was available until midnight), and asked to speak to the manager on duty, I was advised there was no manager present. Although I am a Starwood Platinum member, I would recommend the Columbia Marriott or Hilton before this property.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usc89grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We are always eager to receive feedback from our guests about their stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, their experiences are sometimes unpleasant. We apologize for the situation you had with our room service and front desk staff member. We assure you that we will address this issue with our staff, so we can avoid similar situations in the future. We do our best to give our guests the service they deserve, and it is disappointing to hear that you were less than satisfied with us. Again, we apologize and we will use this feedback to better serve our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We always stay at the Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel when we stay overnight in Columbia. The club lounge and rooms are amazing. The roof top bar is awesome for meeting up with family and friends and offers an amazing view of the dontown skyline. The staff is extra freindly and quick to help out in any way that I can. We have stayed here 5 times and never had a bad experience. I can't think of a better hotel to stay out while in downtown Columbia, SC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are needing a downtown hotel this Sheraton is a good fit....the breakfast was good and the check in was fast and easy.....parking is free on the weekends....tv in bathrooms and large tv in bedroom....very clean and nice......

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 93 in Columbia
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Marriott
#22 of 93 in Columbia
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Columbia Downtown
Aloft Columbia Downtown
#19 of 93 in Columbia
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbia Downtown at USC
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel

Address: 1400 Main St, Columbia, SC 29201-2806
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $125 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated hotel is 1.3 miles from the South Carolina State Museum and 3.1 miles from Riverbanks Zoo. Modern rooms and suites with vaulted ceilings and hardwood floors offer free WiFi, desks with ergonomic chairs, flat-screen TVs and coffeemakers. Some rooms add whirlpool tubs. Club rooms provide access to a lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening appetizers. There's a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner, a trendy martini bar in a historic bank vault, and a hip rooftop lounge/bar. Full service Starbucks Reserve store in the lower lobby with fireplace and lounge chairs. Additional amenities include a 24/7 business center and a fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Columbia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing